On June 13, 1809, a dispensation was granted by M.·. W.·. Brother Samuel Huntington to Aaron Wheeler, Gideon Leet, Edward Paine, John Woodworth, John W. Brown, Samuel S. Baldwin, Samuel Potter, Joel Paine, Charles Parker, and Isaac Palmer for a lodge to be located in Painesville, Geauga County. Lake County, of which Painesville is the county seat, was at that period a part of Geauga County.
The first mention made of Meridian Orb Lodge in the Grand Lodge records was in its Proceedings of the Annual Communication in 1810, in which at the session of January 5th it is stated:
"On motion, Ordered, That the dispensation granted to the lodge in Geauga County be continued in force until a warrant or charter be procured and issued to said lodge by the name of 'Meridian Orb.'"
At the Special Communication of the Grand Lodge held at Chillicothe, September 3, 1810, Meridian Orb Lodge was said to have been represented by "Brother Freeman, specially deputed proxy."
Meridian Orb Lodge was represented in Grand Lodge at the Annual Communication held in January, 1812. Its representative, however, was not a member of Meridian Orb Lodge.
In this connection it is proper to explain that in its first half century and even longer perhaps, in accordance with Grand Lodge regulations, the proxy of a lodge or the proxy of either of its first three officers was not required to be a member of the lodge represented.
The charter of Meridian Orb Lodge No. 10 was granted March 7, 1812, by M.·. W.·. Brother Lewis Cass, Grand Master. Its first elected officers were Edward Paine, W. M.; Samuel Potter, S. W.; Joel Paine, J. W.; Isaac Palmer, Treasurer; Uriah Bartram, Secretary; James J. Anderson, S.D.; Clark Parker, J. D.; Caleb C. Fobes and William P. Scott, Stewards, and Gaines Pease, Tyler.
In the years 1814, 1815, 1816, and 1817 Meridian Orb Lodge was represented in Grand Lodge by a proxy.
In 1814, Meridian Orb Lodge reported a membership of thirteen.
The lodge was represented in Grand Lodge at its Annual Communication held at Columbus in December, 1820, by the Hon. Brother Elisha Whittlesey, a member of Erie Lodge No.3 of Warren, who at this annual meeting of the Grand Lodge was elected R.·. W.·. Deputy Grand Master.
At the session of the Grand Lodge on the second day it was "On the application and special representation of Meridian Orb Lodge No.10 Resolved, That all lodges, working heretofore under dispensations, and who have been allowed at this session of the Grand Lodge to receive charters, may be permitted to continue their Masonic labors until they shall have received their charters and been duly installed."
In 1821, 1823, 1825, 1827, and 1829 Meridian Orb Lodge was reported as represented in Grand Lodge doubtless by proxy, however, as in 1829 Meridian Orb No.10 and Centre Star No.11 were both said to be represented by Brother L. Humphrey of Granville, the Worshipful Master of Centre Star Lodge No.11.
In 1821 Meridian Orb Lodge, in the Grand
Lodge Proceedings of that year, was published in the list of delinquent
lodges, and in the Proceedings of the M.·. W.·.
Grand Lodge of Ohio at its annual meeting in I 842 a special committee
of the Grand Lodge reported Meridian Orb No.10 as one among those
lodges "having ceased to exist without any known hopes of
In the subsequent list of defunct lodges published by the Grand Lodge it was said to have "ceased work in 1828."
Whilst there is no special information now in existence, so far as known, as to the cause of its dissolution, yet it is to be reasonably inferred that the in-famous persecutions inaugurated by the political demagogues of the Anti-Masonic party were the cause of its defection and demise.
It is therefore fitting that its number, as it now is, should continue blank.
At the Annual Communication of the M.·. W.·. Grand Lodge of Ohio, held in January, 1810, the record of the third day's session states that "A petition from sundry Brethren living near Granville, in Licking County, praying to be erected into a lodge by the name of 'Centre Star,' and that a warrant or charter may be granted them by this Grand Lodge for that purpose was presented" and was referred to a special committee for report thereon. At the session of the Grand Lodge on the following day (January 4, 1810) the committee, Brothers Kilbourn, Burnet, and Brush, reported "that the petition from sundry Brethren living near Granville, in Licking County, not being signed by seven, as the constitution and bylaws require, ought not to be granted."
The report was ordered by the Grand Lodge to lie over for further consideration.
At a special meeting of the Grand Lodge held at Chillicothe, September 3, 1810, "Centre Star Lodge, Granville," was said to be represented by "Brother Job Case, Worshipful Master thereof."
At the Annual Communication held at Chillicothe January 7, 1811, the Grand Master, M.·. W.·. Brother Lewis Cass, "presented the petitions and vouchers upon which dispensations have been granted in recess of Grand Lodge, one of which was "To Centre Star Lodge", to be held at Granville, in Licking County, which were referred to Brothers Tupper, Kerr, and Waddle, to report thereon tomorrow evening."
At the meeting designated the committee reported in favor of granting the charter prayed for, and its report was adopted by the Grand Lodge and a charter was granted to it as No.11 on the roll of the Grand Lodge.
The charter members of Centre Star Lodge No.11 were Brother Job Case, Worshipful Master; Brother Timothy Spelman, Senior Warden, and Brother Noble Landon, Junior Warden.
The first meeting place of Centre Star Lodge was said to have been in a room "ten by fourteen and a half feet in size" in the second story of the residence of Brother Elias Gilman, "finished off for the purpose."
Centre Star Lodge No.11 was represented in Grand Lodge at the Annual Communication in January, 1812, by Brother "Justin Hillyer, W. M." Brother Julius Coleman was its representative in Grand Lodge in 1813, and in 1814 Brother Elias Gilman was its representative. The "Return of Centre Star Lodge No.11" for 1814 was as follows:
"Elias Gilman, W. M.; Timothy Spelman, S. W.; Noble Landon, J. W.; Horace Wolcot, Secretary; Hiram Rose, Treasurer; Justin Hillyer, S. D.; Wm. S. Richards, J. D.; Ezra Perrin and George Denevan, Stewards, and Seth Mead, Tyler.
"Past Masters: Julian Coleman, Benjamin Pratt, and Job Case.
"Master Masons: William D. Gibbon, Jeremiah R. Munson, Hosmer Curtis, John Johnston, Sylvanus Mitchell, E. C. Clemmons, Ezra Mead, Enos Hurlburt, Orin Granger, Thomas Spelman, Lester Carr, James Alexander, Ezra Rathbone, Stephen MeDougal, Samuel Lee, Worthy Pratt, Levi Rose, Spencer Spelman, and Spencer Wright."
In a local history by the late M.·. W.·. Brother S. Stacker Williams of Centre Star Lodge No.11 it is stated that its records from 1817 to June, 1823, inclusive were lost (Masonic Review, 1877, p.403).
The Grand, Lodge Proceedings, however, show that in 1815 the lodge was represented by Brother Timothy Spelman, in 1816 by Stephen McDougall, in 1817 by William Beardsley and William S. Richards, in 1819 by Lucius Smith, in 1820 by Benjamin Pratt, in 1821 by William W. Gault. In 1823, 1825, and 1826 Centre Star Lodge No.11 was said to have been represented, but the name of the representative is not stated. However, as a "Coleman and Prichard" are mentioned in the record as being present, the names doubtless referred to Brothers Julius Coleman and A. P. Prichard, both prominent members of Centre Star Lodge.
In 1821, there being a grievance case under consideration in Centre Star Lodge, the Grand Lodge appointed Brothers C. Conant, the Reverend S. S. Miles, and Horatio Conant a committee to visit Granville and take testimony in the case.
In 1824 Centre Star Lodge was represented by J. T. Clapp, in 1827 by G. B. Bancroft, in 1828 and 1829 by Leonard Humphrey, in 1830 by H. L. Bancroft, John W. Milligan, and Leonard Humphrey.
At the Communication of the Grand Lodge in 1830 Brother Leonard Humphrey of Granville was appointed Grand Junior Deacon by the Grand Master, M.·. W.·. Brother William Fielding. In 1831 Centre Star Lodge was represented by Sylvester Hayes, in 1832 and 1833 by C. C. Rose, in 1835 by Walter Thrall, and in 1836 by C. C. Rose and Leonard Humphrey.
Centre Star Lodge was not again represented in Grand Lodge, and the Grand Lodge record states that its existence "ceased in 1837."
It may be of interest to note that among the early members of Centre Star Lodge Brother Hosmer Curtis became a member of Mt. Zion Lodge No.9 and was elected Grand Junior Warden by the Grand Lodge. Brothers Stephen McDougal, Lucius Smith, and Colonel William W. Gault were residents of Newark, and subsequently were among the petitioners in 1823 for a dispensation for a lodge in that place.
The Worshipful Masters of Centre Star Lodge prior to 1837 were Brothers Job Case, Justin Hillyer, Elias Gillman, Timothy S. Spelman, William Beardsley, W. S. Richards, Anthony P. Prichard, Jonathan Clapp, G. B. Bancroft, Daniel Howe, Leonard Humphrey, and Spencer Wright.
The antagonism to Freemasonry after about 1829 became very pronounced in Granville, there having been, even before that period, a strong feeling of antipathy to the Masonic institution; the Anti-Masonic party found ready adherents to its banner and willing participants in and promoters of the malicious slanders and vituperations incident to their vain efforts to annihilate Freemasonry.
Although the futility of the efforts of its enemies is so apparent in the wonderful prosperity that has attended Freemasonry for more than half a century since that period, there yet remains in that vicinity an inconsequential anti-Masonic element.
In 1850, at the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge of Ohio, held at Cincinnati in October, the record states that "The Committee on Charters and Dispensations, to whom was referred the petition of Ralph Granger and others, praying for the renewal of the charter of Centre Star Lodge No.11, in Granville, Licking County, report: That they have carefully examined the subject, and offer for adoption the following resolution:
"'Resolved, That the Secretary be, and is hereby authorized and instructed to issue a charter to said Centre Star Lodge, to be No.11, on the payment of a dispensation fee of fifty dollars.'"
Centre Star No.11 with its old name and number-was constituted under a new charter by R.·. W.·. Brother A. D. Bigelow, Senior Grand Warden; and its first officers were G. L. Salsbury, Worshipful Master; E. G. Granger, Senior Warden; and H. B. Green, Junior Warden.
At the Annual Communication of the M.·. W.·. Grand Lodge at Chillicothe in October, 1852, the Committee on Charters and Dispensations reported that among other petitions submitted for their consideration "they have also examined the petition of Centre Star Lodge No.11, asking the Grand Lodge to restore their original charter, and refund to said lodge the dispensation fee paid for the renewal of their charter, and recommend that the Grand Lodge do not grant the prayer of the petitioners and that they have leave to withdraw their papers." The Grand Lodge concurred in the report of the committee.
Brothers A. P. Prichard, Harry Fassett, and some others of the former membership did not, for some reason, join in the establishment of the new lodge.
Since its reorganization Centre Star Lodge has maintained a prosperous existence, now numbering one hundred and eight members. Among its members receiving official honors in the Grand Lodge F. & A. M. of Ohio were the late M.·. W.·. Brother S. Stacker Williams, Grand Master of Masons in Ohio; the late Brother William H. Sedgwick, Sr., District Lecturer in the Nineteenth Masonic District of Ohio, and William H. Sedgwick, Jr., subsequently appointed Lecturer of the same district.
Masons hailing from Centre Star Lodge No.11 whose names, if obtained, with the names of those honored in public affairs, and the names of those of its members who have presided in its Fast or who have been prominent in promoting its interests, will be published in the history of the subordinate lodges expected to follow the history of the Grand Lodge.
In the old manuscript record of the Grand Lodge it is stated that a dispensation was issued "to establish a Lodge of Ancient Masons to be held at the seat of justice in the County of Portage, to be denominated Unity Lodge No. __."
Brother Rial McArthur was appointed as its first Worshipful Master, Joel Walters the first Senior Warden, and George Darrow, Jr., the first Junior Warden.
The dispensation was signed by Lewis Cass, Grand Master, and dated May 28, 1810.
In 1811, at the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge held at Chillicothe in January, "Unity Lodge" was represented by its Senior Warden, Brother Joel Walters, and at the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge at Chillicothe in January, 1812, it is stated that "Unity Lodge" was represented by "Rial McArthur, proxy."
Although the Grand Lodge printed Proceedings are silent in relation thereto, it is stated in its old manuscript record that a charter was issued to Unity Lodge No. 12 in the Town of Ravenna in the County of Portage. Its charter members were Brothers Rial McArthur, Joel Walters, George Darrow, Jr., Joseph Hart, Joshua Culver, William Troop, Timothy Culver, Gideon Chittenden, Jeremiah Root, and Elijah Blake more.
The charter was stated to have been "issued and dated this _______ day of January, A. D. 1812."
The names of Lewis Cass, Grand Master; Jacob Burnet, Deputy Grand Master; Henry Brush, Senior Grand Warden; John Woodbridge, Junior Grand Warden pro tern., and Philemon Beecher, Grand Treasurer, appear on the record and are attested under a scroll seal by Angus Langham, Grand Secretary.
In 1813 Unity Lodge No.12 is said to have been represented in Grand Lodge by Brother Rial McArthur, W. M., "who at this Grand Communication was appointed Grand Senior Deacon by the Grand Master, M.·. W.·. Brother Henry Brush."
Owing to its expense and the difficulties of travel attending the representation of subordinate lodges by their own members, as hitherto stated, the following procedure is illustrative of Grand Lodge legislation in that connection:
"Brother Rial McArthur produced a letter from Jerusalem Lodge No.19 (U. D.) appointing him as the proxy of said lodge in this Grand Lodge. And after the same was read, the Grand Lodge came to the following resolutions:
"Resolved by the Grand Lodge of Ohio, That the credentials whereby Brother B. McArthur is constituted the proxy of Jerusalem Lodge No. 19 be considered authentic and satisfactory; and that the said Brother be recognized and known as the legal representative of said lodge.
"Resolved, That the Grand Secretary do enter upon the records of the Grand Lodge the said Jerusalem Lodge No.19, and that the said lodge be admitted to the same rights and privileges as the subordinate lodges within the jurisdiction of this Grand Lodge.
"Resolved, That the said lodge be recommended to continue to work under the dispensation constituting (erecting) said lodge until the next Grand Communication."
In 1814 Brother Rial McArthur was the representative in Grand Lodge of Unity Lodge No.12, Erie Lodge No.3, Jerusalem Lodge No.19, and Western Star Lodge No.21.
In the "Return" of Unity Lodge in 1814 Brother Stephen Mason was stated to be the Worshipful Master and thirty-five members were reported, including seven Fellow Crafts.
In 1815 Brother Rial McArthur was again in attendance upon Grand Lodge as Grand Senior Deacon and as the representative of Unity Lodge. At the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge at Chillicothe in 1813, Unity Lodge was represented by Brother William W. Colgreave, a member of Erie Lodge No.3, and in 1817 by Brother Seth Day. It was not again represented until 1820, when at the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge held in Columbus in December, Brother William Coolman was its representative. From 1820 to 1827 Unity Lodge No.12 was not represented in Grand Lodge.
At the Annual Communication. of the Grand Lodge held at Columbus in January, 1827, Brother William Coolman represented Unity Lodge, and at that meeting of the Grand Lodge he was elected Grand Junior Deacon. Although he was in attendance upon the Grand Lodge at its annual meeting in Columbus in 1828, the Grand Lodge record states that Unity Lodge No.13 "ceased" its existence from 1827, it being among the number that succumbed to the baleful influence of the Anti-Masonic party and the persecutions and social ostracism extended to Freemasons at that period.
In support of their petition for resuscitation in 1858 it was claimed that the Brethren of Unity Lodge maintained their existence until 1832, but no "Re-turn" in that connection was made to Grand Lodge.
In 1852 at the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge of Ohio, held at Chillicothe in October of that year, Unity Lodge working under dispensation petitioned to the Grand Lodge for resuscitation of its old charter. The Grand Lodge, however, refused to acquiesce in their request, but granted a new charter of the same name and number to the Brothers petitioning therefor, dated October 22, 1852.
As the names of the petitioners for a dispensation or the names of the charter members were not reported upon the historical blank sent to Unity Lodge and are not mentioned in the Grand Lodge Proceedings of that date, their publication is necessarily omitted herein and deferred until the later publication of the proposed history of that lodge, if then obtained.
Unity Lodge is now a prosperous Masonic Body and has a membership of one hundred and seventy-four, and one of its members M.·. W.·. Brother Orion P. Sperra has been honored in Grand Lodge by having been elected Grand Master of Masons in Ohio and in the Grand Chapter of Royal Arch Masons of Ohio by having been elected Grand High Priest in that Grand Body.
In 1810 the members of Harmony Lodge No.8 of Urbana and Springfield, residents of Montgomery and Miami Counties, petitioned for a lodge to be located in Dayton; their petition was granted and a dispensation was subsequently issued, and St. John's Lodge of Dayton and Troy was represented in Grand Lodge in 1811 at its Annual Communication in Chillicothe on January 7th. At that meeting a charter was voted to St. John's Lodge.
The charter, however, was not issued until January 10, 1812, and was signed by Lewis Cass, Grand Master; Jacob Burnet, Deputy Grand Master; Henry Brush, Senior Grand Warden; James Woodbridge, Junior Grand Warden; and Angus Lewis Langham, Grand Secretary.
The charter members were Brothers Samuel Shoup, George Grove, Aaron Cozad, Jerome Holt, Hugh McCullom, George F. Tennery, Henry Marquart, Alexander Ewing, William Calhoun, William M. Smith, John Cox, and David Steele. Brother George F. Tennery, who was prominent in the early Masonic affairs of the State, was the Worshipful Master appointed in the dispensation of 1810. He was succeeded by Brother Alexander Ewing in 1811, and Brother Charles Smith was the first W. M. elected under the charter.
Forty Brethren have served as Worshipful Masters of this lodge, among whom were Brothers Harvey Vinal, O. A. Lyman, C. C. Kiefer, Henry Theobald, and Martin J Houck, who were accorded official honors in the Grand Bodies of Ohio.
In 1814 St. John's Lodge No.13 reported twenty-six members upon its roll.
From its organization in 1810 until 1840 inclusive, but four years only were unrepresented in Grand Lodge, viz: 1813, 1820, 1832, and 1836. As may be noted but one of these years (1832) was in those years in which the anti-Masonic persecutions were so virulent. In 1818 and 1819 the Grand Lodge record makes interesting mention of affairs in St. John's Lodge.
The successful existence maintained by St. John's Lodge, its disregard of the persecutions and slanders of the enemies of Freemasonry, and its steadfast loyalty to the Fraternity entitled it to the commendation of the Craft.
Whilst there must be much more historical and biographical matter with interesting Masonic incidents in connection with its long Masonic existence in connection with the history of St. John's Lodge No.13, it is very much regretted that it has not been made available for the use of the Historian.
St. John's Lodge now numbers four hundred and thirty-nine members.
The Grand Lodge records do not show in what year Franklin Lodge was granted a dispensation.
In the history of Franklin Lodge, prepared by W. Brother H. A. Cosley, it is stated that the lodge was "constituted" January 28, 1812, which doubtless referred to its organization under a dispensation, as its charter was not granted until January 5, 1815, three years later. Its Worshipful Master, Brother Alexander Ewing, was a charter member of St. John's Lodge No.13 of Dayton, chartered January 12, 1812, but sixteen days earlier than the organization of Franklin Lodge.
The frequent misuse in early records of the word "constituting" applicable only by the authority of a charter instead of either the words "instituting," "organizing," or "establishing" pertinent to a lodge under dispensation, has caused much confusion and difficulty in arriving at correct history.
In this case, however, the Grand Lodge record states that a charter was issued to Franklin Lodge at Troy, January 5, 1815, and its own record shows that its organization and previous meetings were held under a dispensation. In this connection, as St. John's Lodge doubtless was endowed with the authority of holding communications at Troy as well as at Dayton, and as the constitution of St. John's Lodge was under a charter dated January 12, 1812, it is difficult to conjecture the cause for the organization of Franklin Lodge in a fortnight thereafter.
In this connection also the organizers of the new lodge were mostly, if not wholly, members of St. John's Lodge.
Franklin Lodge was not represented in Grand Lodge until in 1814, and then by Brother "Alexander Ewing, representative."
At this Grand Communication of 1814 the Grand Lodge record states that "Brother Ewing offered the following resolution :''
Resolved by The Grand Lodge of Ohio, That Franklin Lodge No.14 be authorized to continue working under the dispensation organizing said lodge until the next Grand Communication."
"Which, on motion, was adopted."
This was the first mention made of its dispensation and there was no reference whatever to any Franklin Lodge previous to 1814, although having then, according to the lodge record, worked under dispensation two years.
At the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge in 1815 it was "ordered that the Grand Secretary" prepare a charter "for Franklin Lodge No.14."
The following amended excerpts from the paper of W. Brother Cosley, with a transcript of the minutes of a few meetings with paragraphs from the bylaws in its old records, in the quaint, terse style of that period, will doubtless be of much interest.
History of Franklin Lodge No.14, F. & A. M., Troy, Ohio.
Prepared by H. A. Cosley, Worshipful Master.
Franklin Lodge, as its number indicates, is one among the oldest lodges of Freemasons in Ohio. The Masons of Miami and Montgomery Counties founded St. John's Lodge at Dayton in 1810, and were formerly members of Harmony Lodge No.8 of Urbana and Springfield.
Franklin Lodge has preserved in its archives the very first record of the proceedings of the lodge, which record shows that the lodge was constituted, and the officers were installed on the 28th day of January, 1812, the installing officer being Brother Charles Smith, of Dayton, Ohio.
As usual in this early day of Masonry in Ohio the business was transacted in the Entered Apprentice degree, as the record shows that the lodge was opened in that degree, and committees were appointed and petitions received.
One of the committees was appointed for the purpose of settling with St. John's Lodge of Dayton, from which Franklin Lodge was mostly formed. Bylaws were also adopted at this first meeting.
The lodge dues were 12½ cents a month, and the fees for the degrees were fifteen dollars if the candidate was made a Master Mason.
When a meeting of emergency was called, for the purpose of conferring the degrees, the expense was borne by "the Brother coming forward," as the candidate was styled in those early days of Franklin Lodge.
Applications coming in frequently for the degrees, and much work being done, it was decided to have a banquet on one of the occasions, and the total cost of the banquet was $2.67, which amount would not go far in our modern feasts. The record does not state whether the candidate paid the expense of this banquet.
The charter members of Franklin Lodge were Alexander Ewing, Asa Coleman, Jacob Mann, Robert Morrison, William Gahagan, John McKinney, Charles Wolverton, B. W. Langley, and Peter Felix.
The first officers of Franklin Lodge were:
Alexander Ewing Worshipful Master
Asa Coleman Senior Warden
Andrew Wallace 3unior Warden
N. K. Clough Secretary
John McKinney Treasurer
B. W. Langley Senior Deacon
Peter Felix Junior Deacon
Robert Morrison Tyler
The records of the lodge show that at a meeting held in March, 1815, it was decided to hold every other regular meeting at the "town of Washington," now Piqua, for a term of one year.
There are active members of Franklin Lodge today who are descendants of some of the charter members of the lodge, among whom are the Colemans and Gahagans. The records of Franklin Lodge are generally in good condition, and show that the history of Freemasonry in Troy goes back and is closely identified with the general history of Freemasonry in Ohio, passing through the critical period of the order, from 1829 to 1838, when it was considered very unwise to be identified with Masonry. In the years 1829, 1831, 1834, 1837, and 1839, although Franklin Lodge was not represented in Grand Lodge, it passed through all these years of its history, quietly reflecting the teaching of the tenets of the order, in the lives of men who have lived in this community.
There have gone forth from her portals men who have been prominently identified with the history of our country. Men whose hearts were fired with patriotism, and who went forward in the perilous epochs of our history, taking up arms for the defense of our country. Men who were eminent as statesmen, whose influence was felt in the formation of our laws and the establishment of good government in our beloved land.
Members of Franklin Lodge have been honored as officers of the Grand Bodies of Ohio. Brother James Nesbitt of Franklin Lodge was Grand Secretary of the Grand Chapter R. A. M. of Ohio for a number of years. Brother George Keifer was Deputy Grand Master in 1846, and Brother Barton S. Kyle was Senior Grand Warden in 1856.
With all its vicissitudes and trials, Franklin Lodge has passed through almost a century of history, and now to round out her one hundred years of life, in conjunction with the other Masonic Bodies, has erected one of the most beautiful Masonic temples in Western Ohio.
In this connection Brother David Miller, whose Masonic history in connection with Franklin Lodge covers a period of over sixty years, is still living at the age of eighty-seven years, an honored member of the lodge. Dr. Horace Coleman, a son of Asa Coleman, one of the charter members and a former member of the Grand Lodge of Ohio, is the next oldest member of the lodge, and is now living in Washington, D. C.
The present membership of Franklin Lodge is one hundred and eighty-two.
Minutes of the first meeting held by Franklin Lodge No.14, F. & A. M. in Troy, Ohio, have no date on record; but from the date of the next meeting, this must have been about the 1st of February, 1812.
''Franklin Lodge was constituted, and the officers installed, the 28th day of January, 1812, by Brother Charles Smith. After the officers were duly installed, the lodge proceeded to business, by opening in the first degree of Masonry. Chose a committee of three, to frame a set of bylaws for the government of the lodge. Chose a committee of three to settle with St. John's Lodge No.9."
A petition was presented by Jacob Mann, which was received, and a committee appointed to enquire into his character. "Lodge closed in harmony."
Minutes of meeting held February 22, 1812:
"A special lodge convened by order of the Worshipful Master. Lodge opened in the first degree of Masonry. Reported by the committee, that Jacob Mann as to his moral character and standing in life is such as to entitle him to become a Mason, was balloted for and unanimously received, and accordingly initiated in the first degree of Masonry in due form. Voted that a book be provided by the Secretary, for the purpose of keeping the records of the lodge. Voted that Brother A. Wallace be a committee to make inquiry respecting a charter and altar, and report at the next meeting. Lodge closed in peace and harmony."
Minutes of meeting held April 28, 1812:
"Lodge met agreeable to adjournment, opened in the first degree of Masonry. The committee reported favorable as to Robert Morrison, who was balloted for and received. Bylaws read and received. Brethren paid twelve and one-half cents each. Lodge closed in peace and harmony."
Minutes of meeting held May 26, 1812:
"Lodge met agreeable to adjournment, opened in the first degree of Masonry. (Robert Morrison initiated to the first degree of Masonry.) An account of the expense incurred by A. Ewing and A. Coleman on a settlement with St. John's Lodge, amounting to three dollars and twenty-five cents, was allowed them. A. Ewing was allowed two dollars and thirty-seven and a half cents for expense paid for postage on package from Chillicothe. Lodge closed in harmony."
Minutes of meeting held in December, 1815. One item reads, "Voted that the Secretary make out a return to the Grand Lodge, and that Brother Coleman convey the return without expense to the lodge, more than postage of a letter." At the next meeting in January it was "voted that Brother J. G. Clark have an order on the Treasurer for $6.50 to refund the expense of the Grand Lodge dues."
At the next meeting, held in February, one item reads: "Voted that Brother J. G. Clark have an order for fifty-six and a fourth cents for money laid out and expended for the lodge."
Extracts from the bylaws in the minutes of Franklin Lodge, No.14, F. & A. M., Troy, Ohio, in the month of February, 1812:
Preamble: We, the members of a lodge of Ancient, Free and Accepted Masons in the town of Troy and State of Ohio, called Franklin Lodge No.14, and held under a dispensation granted by the Grand Lodge of the State aforesaid, in order to regulate and conduct our meetings with decorum and regularity, we do make and accept the following constitution for our government:
"Article 1. The lodge shall meet on the Tuesday after the full moon, in each and every month, to convene at candle lighting.
"Article 2. It is the duty of the Master, to see the bylaws and regulations of the lodge, and those of the Grand Lodge, obeyed and attended to, to see all the duties in the lodge performed agreeable to ancient form, and not to suffer the ancient landmarks of the Fraternity to be removed.
"Article 10. No person shall be admitted a member of the Fraternity in this lodge, but by the unanimous ballot of all the members present, on the monthly night preceding the ballot, in which interim a committee shall be appointed by the Master, who shall make due inquiry respecting the petitioner's character, standing and situation in society, and make their report thereon, on the monthly meeting following their appointment, when it shall be taken up and voted upon, excepting for special reasons, it may be deferred; however, should circumstances arise that should imperiously claim an earlier decision than one month, the Brethren on being duly satisfied, may by unanimous ballot direct the coming forward sooner.
"Article 11. All persons admitted to this lodge shall pay fifteen dollars, if raised to the degree of Master Mason; when initiated shall pay seven dollars, when passed four dollars, when raised four dollars.
"Article 12. Every member shall pay twelve and one-half cents each monthly meeting, whether he attends or not.
'Article 15. When a lodge of emergency is called to enter, pass or raise a brother, the expense shall be paid by those coming forward.
"Article 19. Each petition must be accompanied by two dollars, which if rejected shall he returned, if balloted for and his petition received, and he does not come forward in three months, it shall be forfeited to the Lodge, and if the candidate comes forward, it shall be counted part of his initiation fee."
This lodge was organized under a dispensation issued by the Grand Master, M.·. W.·. Brother Lewis Cass, in 1811, and was granted a charter January 8, 1813. The Grand Lodge record states that its principal officers under the charter were Brothers Hiram Hanchet, W. M.; Philemon Baldwin, S. W., and David Long, J. W. Brothers Abraham Bishop and Harvey Murray are mentioned as Past Masters.
Past Grand M.·. W.·. Brother Samuel Huntington, Ex-Governor of Ohio, a resident of Cleveland, assisted in the organization of the lodge and it is said installed its first officers.
Concord Lodge No.15, the progenitor of Cleveland City Lodge No.15, was first represented in Grand Lodge at the Annual Communication held in Chillicothe, January 4, 1813, and was represented by Brother Samuel S. Baldwin.
In 1814 its return shows that it was one of the strongest among the pioneer lodges in this State, having thirty-five members upon its roll. Brothers Hiram Hanchet, Philemon Baldwin, and David Long were re-elected to the office of W. M., S. W., and J. W. respectively held under the charter.
The prosperous condition of Concord Lodge continued until 1827, when it was represented in Grand Lodge by Brother P. M. Weddel. After 1827 Concord Lodge No.15 was never again represented in Grand Lodge, having from that period succumbed to the baneful influence of the hypocritical promoters of the anti-Masonic war, whose persecutions and slanders prevailed, and Concord Lodge finally ceased to exist and was reported in the list of delinquent lodges in 1831, and in 1839 it was stricken from the roll by the Grand Lodge.
In 1840 a number of Brethren petitioned for the resuscitation of the charter of Concord Lodge, but the Grand Lodge on an advert report of the Committee on Charters and Dispensations declined its consideration, but recommended that the Brethren of Cleveland should rather petition for a dispensation for a new lodge. This advice was followed, and accordingly R.·. W.·. Brother William B. Thrall, then Deputy Grand Master, issued a dispensation to "Brothers Clifford Belden, Andrew White, Willard Crawford, Edward Clark, Aaron Barker, Rufus Dunham, B. Crawford, H. Eldridge, J. F. Benedict, and their associates on the 13th day of September, A. D. 1841, for a new lodge to be denominated Cleveland City Lodge No. -." Payment was made of the dispensation fee of forty dollars, and a year later at the Annual Communication charter was of the Grand Lodge in October 1842 a granted to Cleveland City Lodge No.15, dated October 19, 1842.
As desired it was given the number of the mother lodge, but as very wisely preferred the name of Cleveland City Lodge, a name not only appropriate on account of its local significance, but it also had a desirable Masonic connection, as the pioneer Moses Cleveland, for whom the city was named, was a Past Grand Master of Masons in Connecticut.
Having given the foregoing historical facts as obtained from Grand Lodge records as the foundation of its history, the following excerpts from the valuable historical paper of Brothers James B. Ruhl Worshipful Master, and Harry Wilkinson, Secretary of Cleveland City Lodge No.15, will doubtless be deemed of much interest, although perhaps in some respects a repetition of matters hitherto stated. Historical inferences not in accord with the official record and other irrelevant matter therein have necessarily been corrected or omitted.
The successor of the oldest organization of any kind in the City of Cleveland, viz: "its progenitor Concord Lodge No.15," having been brought to light in the dim dawn of the nineteenth century, is the mother of twelve lodges, six chapters, one council, and three commanderies. These, her offspring, point with pride to the long and successful career of this ancient and honorable institution popularly known as "Old Fifteen."
When Concord Lodge was organized on August 23, 1811, Cleveland was a village of less than three hundred inhabitants on the very outskirts of civilization. Cleveland then and for years afterward was spelled Cleveland. The dispensation which resulted in the organization of Concord Lodge was granted by the 'Most Worshipful Grand Master, Gen. Lewis Cass, noted as patriot and soldier, who was afterward Governor of Michigan.
Many of the pioneers who had come from the Eastern shores of the new republic to conquer the unknown West were Masons. It was therefore natural that they should desire to have a lodge of their own in their new location, and the dispensation was asked for and granted as stated.
This little gathering of pioneer Freemasons met in Harvey Murray's store, supposed to have been located somewhere on West Ninth Street, formerly Water Street. The first officers of the new Lodge under its dispensation were:
Abraham Bishop, Worshipful Master; Samuel S. Baldwin, Senior Warden; Harvey Murray, Junior Warden; Robert Fulton, Treasurer; Abner Young, Secretary; Seth Payne, Senior Deacon; William Coulman, Junior Deacon; John Clark, Tyler; Meizer Clark and Harmon Brunmon, Stewards.
In addition to these Brothers, there were present Philemon Baldwin, Samuel Huntington, Edward Payne, William P. Scott and Lewis Hoyt. These Masons had gathered from the village and adjacent hamlets for the installation, and the old records show that after the installation by Most Worshipful Past Grand Master Samuel Huntington, the newly elected officers and Brothers formed in procession and proceeded to the inn of George Wallace, and there dined together. The lot met at stated intervals in the homes of the members for several years, and its membership increased as the village extended its borders and its population. In 1823 the lodge met in B. S. Week's Hall; in 1824, in Almon Kingsbury's Hall; in 1825, in Donald McIntosh's Hall; in 1826, in Ebersole's Hall; and later moved into Masonic Hall, Superior Avenue, almost across the street from where the Rockefeller Building now stands.
It was while at their home in Masonic Hall that Cleveland City Lodge was organized. The village of Cleveland in 1886 consolidated with its neighbor (Ohio City) and became a real city. The citizens were intensely proud of the new city, and the Masons, after mature deliberation, concluded to name their lodge so as to be in accord therewith. It was therefore named "Cleveland City Lodge," retaining its old number, 15. It was still the only Masonic Lodge in the city. Webb Chapter R. A. M. had, however, in 1827, added one to the list of Masonic bodies. The charter of Cleveland City Lodge bore the date of October 19, 1842.
From old Masonic Hall the lodge moved in 1866 to old Case Hall, where it continued to meet for twenty years. And in 1886 it moved to its present splendid quarters, in Masonic Temple, East Sixth and Superior Avenue.
The records of this pioneer lodge, which are guarded as jealously as the crown jewels of England, bear the names of many of the men who laid the foundations of the proud City of Cleveland we know today. On them you can find the names of Ex-Governor Reuben Wood, Erastus Miles, Theodore Miles, Frederick G. Williams, Charles Gunn, Alonzo Carter, William Austin, David Long, Levi Johnson, Amos Calhoun, Ephraim Hubbell, James Kingsbury, and hundreds of others, who have long since answered the summons of the Grand Master of the Universe, and passed to the great beyond. The streets and avenues of the city bear the names of many of these old time citizens, the early Freemasons of Cuyahoga County.
The records of old Concord Lodge disclose some interesting events viewed from these distant years. From the receipts of old Concord Lodge we find that when the First Protestant Episcopal Church of Cleveland was organized, it sought and was granted the privilege of meeting in the Masonic Hall. The First Methodist Episcopal likewise asked and secured a similar privilege. Among the papers of the late Brother Sam Briggs is a call issued to Brother Levi Johnson to attend the funeral of Brother Strong. It bears the date of February 9, 1829, and is signed by C. Watterman, Secretary of Concord Lodge. Another paper of later date is an announcement of a Masonic celebration on Friday, June 24, 1853. The orator of the day was the Hon. Rufus P. Spalding, and the notice contains the following line of march: "The different bodies will form in procession at half past eleven on Superior, corner of Bank Street, and march down Superior to Water, down Water to St. Clair, up St. Clair to Ontario, from Ontario to the Square, up Euclid to Erie, down Erie to Superior, down Superior to Bank Street, thence to the park where a tent has been erected." In the evening a Masonic banquet is announced at the American House, at which "Leland's Quadrille Band" will furnish the music.
The affairs of lodges and other institutions are much like the affairs of men periods of prosperity and periods of adversity.
Upon its organization in 1841 Cleveland City Lodge No.15 commenced a period of prosperity to the honor and glory of Masonry in Cleveland lasting sixty years. During those sixty years many Brothers have worked hard in its interest and given largely of their time and substance to the good of the order. No one, however, in the history of "Old Fifteen" has done more for his beloved lodge than the late M.·. W.·. Brother Charles A. Woodward. He was initiated November 13, 1855, and was an active and ardent member to the time of his death, February 15, 1907. He was Worshipful Master of Cleveland City Lodge in 1858, 1859, 1860, 1869, and 1870, Treasurer for many years, and Most Worshipful Grand Master in 1875 and 1876. Among the many noble men and ardent workers during that long period of prosperity we find Brother George B. Adams, Master in 1867 and 1868, still living, hale and hearty at eighty-nine, and he still enjoys being in attendance upon the meetings of the lodge. W. Brother Charles B. Butler, 33 , was Master in 1878.
W. Brother Gibson H. Robinson, 33 (Past Grand High Priest), was Worshipful Master in 1881 and 1882.
Brother Harry Wilkinson, Secretary of Cleveland City Lodge for eighteen years last past, has not missed a meeting in that time. In 1908, W. Brother James B. Ruhl was elected and installed Master, and has been able to increase the attendance, promote harmony, and multiply the revenues. Cleveland City Lodge No.15 now has assets amounting to fifteen thousand ($15,000) dollars; and an average attendance of one hundred (100), with five hundred and fifteen (515) members on its roll, all in good standing.
The date of the dispensation, if any, of Belmont Lodge No.16 is unknown. Its first representation in Grand Lodge was at the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge, January 6, 1812, when it was represented by Brother Henry Brush of Chillicothe.
That the charter was granted in 1812 at that Grand Communication is evident, as the old charter record of the Grand Lodge stated that a charter was issued to Belmont Lodge No.16, January 15, 1812, precedence of lodge to commence from, 1811. The Secretary of Belmont Lodge, Brother Charles B. Ryan, says that the charter of Belmont Lodge is dated December 11, 1811.
The petitioners for Belmont Lodge, noted in the same Grand Lodge record, were Brothers James H. Relfe (also written Rolfe and Relse), Fzra Ellis, Benjamin Ruggles, Henry H. Evans, Moses Morehead, Thomas Thompson, James Carothers, Josiah Dillon, and Joseph Patton. The report of Brother Ryan gives the names of these Brethren as the charter members of Belmont Lodge No.16, with Brother "James H. Relse" as W. M. and Brother Ezar Ellis as S. W.
In the "return of Belmont Lodge No.16" in 1814, Brother Ezar Ellis is reported as W. M., with a lodge membership of twenty-two. A fire, it is stated, caused the loss of the lodge records from 1832 to 1848.
The early records of the lodge were kept on loose sheets, and in 1885 the Secretary reports that these were all placed in the cornerstone of their court house, then under construction.
Among the names of the many eminent Brethren who have been members of Belmont Lodge now recalled are Colonel William W. Gaul, who was a charter member of Newark Lodge No.97; the Hon. William B. Hubbard, a Grand Master of Masons in Ohio; General Benjamin R. Cowen, and Major Kennon.
From its organization in 1812 until the year 1838 Belmont Lodge No.16 was represented at every Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge except in 1818. Throughout the years of the anti-Masonic persecutions it maintained a loyal working existence entitling it to the grateful commendation of the Craft. It is much regretted that the paucity of materials at hand prevents giving a satisfactory history of this conservative pioneer lodge, whose annals doubtless, if known, would be prolific in interesting Masonic incidents and valuable biographical records. Belmont Lodge has ever maintained a conservative and harmonious existence and has one hundred and twenty members on its roll.
A dispensation was issued September 7, 1811, by Brother Lewis Cass, Grand Master, attested by Henry Brush, Grand Secretary, to Brothers Joseph Hough as Worshipful Master; Thomas Blair, Senior Warden, and Matthew Horton, Junior Warden, for the establishment of a lodge in the "Town of Hamilton, County of Butler."
The lodge was not represented in Grand Lodge until in 1813, when it was represented by its Worshipful Master, Brother Samuel Bayles.
In 1814 Washington Lodge was represented by Brother Edwin Matthews, the Master of N. C. Harmony Lodge of Cincinnati, as its proxy. In its "return" to the Grand Lodge in 1814 the officers reported were Brothers Samuel Bayles, W. M.; Samuel Millikin, S. W.; James Mills, J. W.; Abel Slayback, Treasurer; James Heaton, Secretary; William W. Pharer, S. D.; John Cassidy, J. D.; Anderson Spencer, Steward, and William Wallace, Tyler. Brothers Joseph Rough, Robert Taylor, and Thomas Blair were reported as Fast Masters, and Brothers Matthew Hosten, John Dun, John Ayers, James Cogy, Samuel Gray, Thomas C. Kelsey, W. M. Smith, and David K. Este were reported as Master Masons, while Brother Samuel Powell was in the list of Fellow Crafts. The lodge had lost three members by death, viz: Brothers Alexander Suckett, John Cassidy, and James Joyce.
Washington Lodge was represented in Grand Lodge in 1815 by Brother Jacob Burnet of Scioto Lodge No.6.
In the Grand Lodge list of its subordinate lodges, published in the Proceedings of 1813, Washington Lodge No.17 was recorded as working under a charter, but there seems to be no Grand Lodge record whatever of the date of charter or when ordered to be issued, and as no historical report has been received from Washington Lodge, its history herein must, of course, be very unsatisfactory. In 1817 its representatives were Brothers James Ramse and Joseph S. Benham, and in 1818 Brother Joel Collins, evidently members of Washington Lodge.
Up to 1829 Washington Lodge No.17 was represented in Grand Lodge at every Annual Communication from its organization, but in that year it was unrepresented. Then it was represented each year until 1837, when another year was unrepresented.
Thus it will be seen that Washington Lodge was unswerving in its devotion to Freemasonry, and throughout its dark days its membership were loyal and devoted to its interests. Among its representatives of that period are the names of Brothers Jesse Corwin, W. M. Wilson, William Murray, Jr., W. B. Vanhook, James B. Cameron, John H. Dubbs, Thomas Kenard, C. K. Smith, B. F. Raleigh, and others.
Washington Lodge No.17 is one of the conservative, prosperous lodges of Ohio, and has been honored by having two of its eminent members elected to the Grand East in the Grand Lodge F. & A. M. of Ohio, viz: Past Grand Masters M.·. W.·. Brother Allen Andrews and M.·. W.·. Brother Nelson Williams.
Present membership of Washington Lodge, three hundred and thirty-seven.
At the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge held at Chillicothe in January, 1810, the record states that a petition was received "from sundry Brethren living near Delaware, in Delaware County," praying to be erected into a lodge. It "was presented and read." The committee to whom it was referred subsequently reported that it was not "expedient to grant at the present time."
After the meeting of the Grand Lodge in 1811 a dispensation was issued by the Grand Master M Brother Lewis Cass, dated January 21, 1811, for a lodge "under the title and designation of Hiram Lodge No. -, within the Town of Delaware, County of Delaware," etc.
Moses Byxbe, Jr., was appointed W. M.; Stephen Harrington, S. W., and John Carpenter, J. W. The petition was also signed by William Little, Aaron Lebar, Reuben Lamb, Nathaniel W. Little, Charles Thompson, Azariah Root, Jonathan Catlin, and Zar Sturdevant.
In 1812 Hiram Lodge was represented in Grand Lodge by Solomon Smith, proxy.
At the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge in 1812 a charter was ordered to be issued to Hiram Lodge No. 18 of Delaware, with the names on the dispensation as charter members. An old Grand Lodge record states that its "order of precedence dates from May 28, 1810."
In 1813 Brothers Reuben Lamb and William Little were its representatives at the annual meeting of the Grand Lodge.
In 1814 "the return of Hiram Lodge No.18," held in the town of Delaware, etc., reports fourteen members, Brother Solomon Smith as Worshipful Master.
Among the initiates were Brother J. M. Smith, afterwards a prominent member of Newark Lodge No.97, of Newark, Ohio.
In 1814 Brother Solomon Smith represented Hiram Lodge No.18 in the Grand Lodge.
From its organization this lodge was represented at every Annual Communication of the M.·. W.·. Grand Lodge until 1826. The 1827 and 1829 it was represented, but not in 1830, 1831, and 1832. Although in 1833 it was reported as represented, yet the Grand Lodge record states that it ceased to exist in 1832, having surrendered to the influence of public opinion governed by the vile calumniations of the anti-Masonic petitions of that period.
In 1846 the Grand Master, M.·. W.·. Brother William B. Thrall, reported that he had granted a dispensation for a new lodge at Delaware, Ohio, entitled Hiram Lodge, to Brothers Ezra Griswold, Sidney Moore, William Walker, Henry Rigour, Caleb Howard, William Little, and John Ross.
The Committee Charters and Dispensations, to whom the dispensation was referred, reported that Hiram Lodge No. 18 suspended work in 1833, but that as its charter was not demanded or surrendered recommended that it should be resuscitated under its old name and number, and that its dispensation fee should be refunded, which was concurred in by the Grand Lodge, and Hiram Lodge thenceforth recommenced a prosperous existence upon the roll of the Grand Lodge.
Among the names of its loyal members throughout its dark days should be remembered that of the loyal Brother Ezra Griswold, an honored member and its last representative when the lodge ceased to exist and among those who petitioned for its rehabilitation. Brother William Little was also one of the faithful charter members upon the first organization of the lodge.
Brother John S. Hughes, another honored member of that lodge, was Grand High Priest in the Grand Chapter R. A. M. of Ohio.
Deserving of more than passing mention among the names of the petitioners for the dispensation is that of the Masonic philanthropist and beloved Brother Sidney Moore, Right Worshipful Junior Grand Warden in 1872, 1873, and 1874, whose princely gift of a beautiful Masonic building to the Craft of Delaware and his genial character of Masonic Brotherhood will ever endear his memory to the members of Hiram Lodge.
Three hundred and forty-three members are now upon the roll of Hiram Lodge No.18.
Brother Semans, Secretary of Hiram Lodge, state that there is in preparation a very complete history of Hiram Lodge, which will doubtless have place among the histories of the subordinate lodges F. & A. M. of Ohio, to be published hereafter.
Jerusalem Lodge No. 19 was organized under dispensation in 1812. In 1813 it was represented in Grand Lodge by R.·. W.·. Brother Rial McArthur as proxy, and was authorized "to continue to work under the dispensation, constituting (erecting) said lodge until the next Grand Communication."
In 1814 Jerusalem Lodge No.19 was granted a charter, dated January 5, 1814, signed by M.·. W.·. Brother Henry Brush, Grand Master. Its charter members were Brothers Martin Smith, Daniel Bushnell, Samuel Spencer, Richard Hay, Joseph D. Wolf, S. G. Bushnell, Lebbens Beach, and Linus Hayes, with Brother Martin Smith, W. M.; Brother Daniel Bushnell, S. W., and Brother Samuel Spencer, J. W.
The annual "return" of the lodge in 1814 showed a membership of twenty-five.
From its Organization until 1830 Jerusalem Lodge was usually represented in Grand Lodge in alternate years; the distance from Grand Lodge made its representation annually, doubtless, inconvenient and expensive. In 1830 the lodge was represented by Brother Jared P. Kirtland, but from that date until 1839, a period of eight years, it was not represented in Grand Lodge. In 1831 it was in the list of delinquent lodges.
In 1839 Jerusalem Lodge was represented in Grand Lodge by Brother Lebbeus Beach.
The following resolution, offered by Brother Beach, was referred to the Committee on Charters and Dispensations:
Resolved, That the dues of Jerusalem Lodge No.19 be remitted up to June, 1838, and that the said lodge be entitled to representation at the present term, on an equal footing with other lodges."
The Committee on Charters and Dispensations reported that although Jerusalem Lodge No. 19 had suspended work in 1828, yet that as it had assembled annually to elect officers, and by the annual election of officers had thereby preserved its organization, although not complying with other requirements of Grand Lodge the committee recommended the adoption of the resolution referred for their consideration. The Grand Lodge concurred in the report of the committee, and Jerusalem Lodge was authorized to resume its labors under its charter.
The persecutions and annoyances of Masons, which were at that time a feature in the political affairs in that as in other parts of the State, doubtless caused the dormant period of Jerusalem Lodge.
The eminent statesman, the Hon. Joshua B. Giddings, was made a Mason in 1819 in Jerusalem Lodge, and it is said walked twenty miles to get the degree; he subsequently dimitted and became a member of Tuscan Lodge No.342 of Jefferson.
Another honored member of that period was the Hon. L. C. Jones, one of its early Past Masters. This lodge, being outside of city environments, has maintained an unostentatious quiet existence and now numbers ninety-eight members.
On March 12, 1812, the Grand Master, M.·. W.·. Brother Lewis Cass, issued a dispensation to Brothers Nathaniel Cushing as Worshipful Master, Samuel Nash, Senior Warden, and Oliver Rice as Junior Warden for a lodge at Belpre, in Washington County, to be called Farmers' Lodge No.___.
In 1813 the new lodge was represented in Grand Lodge by Brother E. B. Matthews, proxy, not a member of that lodge.
On January 7, 1813, the Grand Lodge "Ordered, That the Grand Secretary issue a charter to the Brethren at Farmers' Lodge No. 20."
In 1814 it was represented in Grand Lodge by Brother Joseph Barker, Jr., a member of the lodge as representative.
The official "Return of Farmers' Lodge No. 20" for 1814 reports Nathaniel Cushing, W. M.; Samuel Nash, S. W.; Oliver Rice, J. W.; Jonathan Haskell, Treasurer; Daniel Loving, Secretary; William Leebody, S. D., and Robert Bradford, J. D., with a total membership of fifteen.
Farmers' Lodge of Belpre was again represented in Grand Lodge in 185 and in 1817, but finally ceased to exist in 1818.
The vacant number was subsequently given to Magnolia Lodge of Columbus, organized under a dispensation issued by Grand Master M.·. W.·. Brother William B. Thrall, June 10, 1847, to Brother Bela Latham, Benjamin F. Martin, John W. Milligan, James T. Donahoo, and others. Prominent among its members was M.·. W.·. Brother Thomas Sparrow, Grand Master of Masons in Ohio. The history of Magnolia Lodge will be given in its order of constitution.
By order of the Grand Lodge at its Annual Communication in January, 1813, a dispensation was issued for a lodge at Canfleld, Trumbull County, to be named Western Star Lodge No. -' with Elijah Wadsworth as W. M.; Troyal Tanner, S. W.; Isaac Newton, J. W.; Elisha Whittlesey, Treasurer; J. H. Patch, Secretary; John Northup, S. D.; and Richard Fitch, J. D. In 1814 it was represented in Grand Lodge by Brother Rial McArthur of Unity Lodge No.12 of Ravenna, and reported a membership of fifteen.
In 1815 Western Star Lodge was represented in Grand Lodge by Brother Turhan Kirtland of Erie Lodge No.3, who in accordance with the regulations of that period was permitted to represent four lodges as their accredited proxy in addition to the one of which he was a member.
In 1816 it was represented in Grand Lodge by Brother W. M. Cotgreave as proxy, and at that Grand Communication was granted a charter. Brother Cotgreave represented four subordinate lodges as proxy. As there was no mileage or per diem paid by Grand Lodge, the subordinate lodges availed themselves of the privilege of lessening the expense of their representation by joining with other lodges in a proxy representation. In 1818, it was represented by Brother John Campbell, one of its own members, with no representation in 1819, but in 1820 it was again represented by one of its charter members, Brother Elisha Whittlesey, eminent in Ohio pioneer history. In 1821 Brother Elisha Whittlesey was elected R.·. W.·. Deputy Grand Master at the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge held at Columbus in December of that year, and was succeeded as such in January of 1823 by Brother Thomas Corwin.
Western Star Lodge at Canfield maintained its existence until in 1834 when, owing to the anti-Masonic crusade, it ceased to exist.
Subsequently the same name and number were accorded to a lodge in Youngstown, Mahoning County, under the following circumstances:
From the Grand Lodge records it is inferred that although subordinate lodges that had discontinued work and failed to make returns for over two years were ordered to be stricken from the roll, thereby revoking the charter and authority upon which their existence depended and expecting its surrender without any other official demand therefor, and in the same connection Article 20 of the Bylaws of the Grand Lodge was explicit and mandatory in relation to fees and dues. Yet a number of the supposed extinct lodges not having surrendered their charters or having made any report during their dormant period after Masonic skies were brightening, endeavored to become restored to their former status on the roll of the Grand Lodge.
Western Star Lodge No.21 of Canfield was subsequently given Boardman as its location, both being villages in Mahoning County (formerly a part of Trumbull County).
Its meetings seem to have been held alternately at the villages named, but there is no Grand Lodge record of authorized change of location before the dormant period.
At the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge held at Steubenville, October 15, 1849, M.·. W.·. Brother Michael J. Kreider, Grand Master, it is stated that:
"The M.·. W.·. Grand Master presented the following communication from the Master of the late Western Star Lodge No.21, which, on motion, was referred to the Committee on Charters and Dispensations:
STEUBENVILLE, October 15, 1849
'To the M.·. W.·. Grand Lodge of Ohio:
'The undersigned, Master of Western Star Lodge No.21, would respectfully represent that about twelve years since we sent to the Grand Lodge, by Brother J. P. Kirkland, the dues owed by said lodge to the Grand Lodge, since which time, until last fall, the lodge did not meet for business. Early in the last spring, as our return will show, which is herewith enclosed, we commenced our labors under our charter, dated in 1816, Henry Brush, Grand Master, and have initiated, passed, and raised several of the most respectable citizens of our county, and have admitted to membership many from neighboring lodges, being nearer to their residence than the lodges to which they belonged.
"Our lodge, on receiving, from some
unknown source, a copy of the Proceedings of your Communication
of last year, see, with great pain and regret, that we have ignorantly
transgressed the laws of the Grand Lodge. And these facts are
presented to your consideration, with a candid confession of our
sin, for thus having transgressed; and we having dimitted some
of those who were made within this year, giving them diplomas,
and they have gone to the West. Our lodge is extremely anxious
to know what to do, and humbly prays you to point us to the way,
and we will walk therein, and do work meet for repentance, as,
we feel deeply interested for the welfare of the whole Craft,
and especially for those who have been innocently, on their part,
and honestly on our part, thus illegally introduced into the Brotherhood.
"JOHN NORTHRUP, W. M."
At the session of the Grand Lodge on October 17th, the committee reported that:
"Upon the subject matter of the statement of Brother John Northrup, setting forth the transactions of a body of men, who style themselves 'Western Star Lodge No.21,' your committee would report that they have given this subject the attention which the importance demands. Unwilling as they are to establish any precedent which shall seemingly justify, upon the part of the Brethren, a departure from the ancient usages of the Fraternity, your committee nevertheless are convinced that the errors of the Brethren of Western Star Lodge, as set forth by Brother Northrup, were committed in ignorance of the requirements of the Grand Lodge, and of the ancient landmarks of the order: that while their assemblage as a lodge, after so long a cessation from labor, hears evidence of their zeal for the institution of Masonry, unfortunately, it is not a zeal according to knowledge; but how reprehensible soever it would be in the opinion of all true Masons, if it had been indulged, at the expense of Masonic integrity, yet under the circumstances, it is, in the opinion of your committee, entitled to the full exercise of that charity, which forms so striking and beautiful a characteristic of our order. They, therefore, recommend for adoption the following resolution:
Resolved That the work done by the assembly
of Masons, under the name of Western Star Lodge No. 21, be legalized
by the Grand Lodge, and that said body be permitted to resume
labor, under its charter, as a working lodge, under the above
title, upon the payment to the Grand Treasurer of the Grand Dues
that have accrued since they have commenced work, with the initiation,
together with a dispensation fee of fifty dollars, within sixty
days from and after the adjournment of the present session of
the Grand Lodge, or in case of its failure to do so, that the
charter of said lodge be declared null and void, and the lodge
cut off from all the rights and benefits of Masonry.
Hexekiah L. Hosmer
J. W. Dunham
A motion was made to lay said report on the table which was lost.
Although the record is not definite in the disposition of the report of the committee, yet that it was concurred in is evident from the subsequent adoption of the following:
"On motion of the R.· . W.·. Deputy Grand Master, the following resolution was adopted:
Resolved, That the dispensation (fee) required to be paid by Western Star Lodge No.21 be remitted.
No further legislation in that connection is in the Grand Lodge records, but Western Star Lodge thereafter is in the list of subordinate lodges, and in the following year was represented in Grand Lodge by W. Brother Northrup.
In 1852 Western Star Lodge No.21 was permitted to remove to Youngstown in the same county, where it has become one of the most prosperous lodges in Ohio. Prominent among its honored members was the late W. Brother Dr. W. L. Bucchner. It is also the Masonic home of W. Brother A. D. Thomas, District Lecturer.
A more complete history of this lodge will doubtless follow hereafter. Western Star Lodge No.21 now enrolls five hundred and eighty-six members upon its roster.
On January 8, 1813, a dispensation, signed by M.· . W.·. Brother Henry Brush, Grand Master, and R.· . W.·. Brother Robert Kereheval, Grand Secretary, was issued for the establishment of a lodge at Ashtabula, to be known as Rising Sun Lodge No.__.
In it Brother John R. Reed was named as W. M.; Brother Ezra Kellogg, S. W., and Brother Ambrose Stewart, J. W.
At the annual meeting of the Grand Lodge in 1814 Rising Sun Lodge No.__ U. D. was represented in Grand Lodge, and its dispensation was ordered continued until the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge in 1815. No return of work was made in 1814. In 1815 Rising Sun Lodge was represented in Grand Lodge by a proxy not one of its members. At the session of the Grand Lodge held January 4th a charter was ordered to be issued to Rising Sun Lodge No.22, and in accordance therewith its charter was issued January 15, 1815, signed by M.·. W.·. Brother Henry Brush, Grand Master, and R.·. W.·. Brother Robert Kereheval, Grand Secretary.
The following names are given in the old Grand Lodge record as charter members: Brothers John R. Reed, Ezra Kellogg, Ambrose Stewart, Elijah Blakeman, Gideon Leet, Wheeler Woodbury, Caleb Rockwell, and Obed Edwards.
Its first meeting under the charter was held at the house of Brother Gideon Leet, January 24, 1815, with an attendance of twenty-five members and two visitors.
The notes of Brother S. A. Pancoast, with his excerpts from the early records of Rising Sun Lodge No.22, are of much value, and should be made the basis of a complete local history of Freemasonry in Ashtabula County.
M.·. W.·. Brother Samuel Wheeler, who was elected Grand Master of Masons in Ohio in 1826, became a member by affiliation of Rising Sun Lodge, August 23, 1814.
Brother Roger W. Griswold was another noted member of that lodge in its pioneer existence. Brother Griswold was agent of the Connecticut Land Company that was the large landowner in the "Western Reserve."
He was defeated as a candidate for Congress by Brother Joshua R. Giddings, who was for many years thereafter a representative in Congress from that district.
One of the early communications of the lodge April 17, 1813 was held in the house of Brother Benjamin Sweet, in Austinburg. The house was said to be a double log house common in pioneer times, as a better or more pretentious class of log structure having a large covered passageway or open space through the middle of the structure. The hewn log house in a few years later superseded the ordinary log-houses.
Another meeting April 12, 1820 was said to have been held at the house of Brother Anal Munger at Kingsville. All other communications seem to have been held in the village of Ashtabula.
Refreshments were a feature of all of the meetings of the pioneer lodge, as indicated by the Stewards' bills usually presented at the stated meetings of the lodge.
Cider, rum, brandy and whiskey, cheese, crackers and cake, were the viands, for payment of which the Stewards' bills were regularly submitted.
Until October 9, 1821, the meetings were held in private residences. On March 13, 1821, the Grand Master M.·. W.·. Brother John Snow, was in attendance at a meeting held at the house of Brother S. S. Dodge.
After the election of officers a procession was formed and the lodge proceeded to the schoolhouse, where the officers were installed in public by M.·. W.·. Brother Snow. The 24th of June St. John's Day was very regularly observed by a procession, oration or sermon, and dinner.
The festival of St. John's, on December 27th, was also occasionally observed by an oration or sermon and feast." At the one held December 27, 1820, twenty-seven members and ten visitors were in attendance. Ten dollars was paid to the Reverend Brother Searl for his sermon at the schoolhouse, and twenty-seven dollars and ninety-three cents was expended for the supper and refreshments furnished by Brother S. S. Dodge.
December 27, 1821, the hall of the lodge was dedicated, followed by a dinner.
The record of the lodge on May 26, 1826, states that one "David Klice, an expelled Mason, lately set up a Clandestine lodge in this village," and at a meeting held October 12th a committee was "appointed to ascertain names of Clandestines.
This is the first instance of Clandestinism in Ohio thus far noticed.
In 1830, at a meeting held January 5th, "It was voted that sufficient money be appropriated to defray the hire of a horse for one delegate to ride to Columbus to attend the Grand Lodge." From four to six days doubtless were required for the journey one way.
Brother John C. DeBlair was the representative of Rising Sun Lodge No.22 in Grand Lodge in 1830.
From 1827 the meetings seem to have been of less interest to the members; at some of them it is stated that only the officers were present. A number of members were from time to time dimitted or, as the record states, "discharged" and on March 9, 1830, with but fifteen members present, four were "discharged." This is said to have been the last meeting of Rising Sun Lodge No.22, and in 1831 it was reported in the Grand Lodge record as one of the delinquent lodges, and in that record it is also subsequently stated of Rising Sun Lodge No.22 that it "ceased since 1829."
At the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge in 1845 the Grand Master, M.·. W.·. Brother Wm. B. Thrall, reported that on the 18th day of June (1845) he had issued a letter of dispensation for a lodge "to Brothers William W. Reed, George C. Loveland, Josian Allen, John Hall, Roger W. Griswold, B. Hubbard, David Warner, J. B. Waters, Samuel Gifford, E. W. Mead, George Ford, John Rattle, and their associates, at Ashtabula, in Ashtabula County, by the name of Rising Sun Lodge."
The Committee on Charters and Dispensations, to whom it was referred with other dispensations under consideration, reported a resolution granting a charter to Rising Sun Lodge No.22. For some reason the report of the committee was referred to the Committee on Ways and Means.
A resolution was adopted granting the representation of Rising Sun Lodge a seat in Grand Lodge, and a resolution proposing to refund the dispensation fee paid by Rising Sun Lodge was referred to the Committee on Ways and Means, and was "adversely" reported upon by that committee.
As no mention whatever seems to have been made by the Committee on Ways and Means in regard to the resolution relating to granting a charter to Rising Sun Lodge and other lodges as referred to that committee, the reference mentioned was doubtless a clerical error, as Brother Pancoast reports that the date of the charter under which Rising Sun Lodge No.22 is now working is "October 23, 1845," with Brothers George C. Loveland, W. M.; Josiah Allen, S. W.; and Samuel Gifford, J. W. In 1846 the amended bylaws of the lodge were approved by the Grand Lodge, and twenty members were reported upon its roll.
Rising Sun Lodge continues to be one of the substantial and conservative lodges of this Grand Lodge Jurisdiction, and has a membership of two hundred and thirty-six.
At the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge held at Chillicothe, January 4, 1813, the record states that a petition was received "from a number of Master Masons residing in the County of Pickaway, praying to be erected into a lodge in the town of Circleville, in said county, to be called Piekaway Lodge No.__."
The petition was referred to a special committee, and upon the following day it is said that:
"The committee to whom was referred
the petition of sundry Brethren of Circleville and its vicinity,
have taken into consideration the same; and are of the opinion
that the prayer of the petitioners is reasonable, and ought to
be granted. They would, therefore, recommend that a dispensation
be issued accordingly.
"F. B. Merwin, Chairman.
"And upon motion that the Lodge agree to said report, it was determined in the affirmative."
Accordingly a dispensation was granted to Pickaway Lodge at that Grand Communication, with Brothers Ralph Osborn, W. M.; Peter Parcels, S. W., and James Renick, J. W.
In 1814 the lodge was represented in Grand Lodge by Brother Ralph Osborn and reported seventeen members on its roll.
At the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge held at Chillicothe on the 2d day of January, 1815, on the first day of its session:
"Brother Osborn, of Pickaway Lodge No.23, delivered to the Grand Secretary the dispensation of that lodge, and moved that the Grand Lodge do grant to said lodge a charter in lieu thereof which, upon being seconded, passed without a division."
The old record states that the charter was issued on January 5, 1815, to Brothers Ralph Osborn, Peter Parcels, James Renick, James Denny, Jonathan Renick, James Russell, James Bell, and James R. Hultz. (The last name is inferred from the record of work, as the name given does not appear at all in the roster of Pickaway Lodge.)
The charter was signed by Henry Brush, Grand Master, and Robert Kereheval, Grand Secretary.
The first officers of Pick away Lodge were:
"Ralph Osborn, W. M.; Peter Parcels,
S. W.; James Renick, J. W.; Jonathan Renick, Treasurer;
Richard Douglas, Secretary; James Russell, S. D.; Ira W. Pire, J. D.; and Able Renick, Tyler."
From its organization Pickaway Lodge was represented in every Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge, even through the dark period of the anti-Masonic persecutions.
That Pickaway Lodge has been justly honored by the official recognition of its members in Grand Lodge is evident, as Brother Ralph Osborn, its first W. M., was appointed Grand Marshal in 1810, and was reappointed as such for several years thereafter. In 1826 Brother Samuel Denny of Circleville was Grand Junior Deacon. In 1833 Brother G. A. Patterson was appointed Grand Chaplain. In 1834 Brother henry Sage was elected R.·. W.·. Grand Senior Warden and Brother William B. Thrall was elected R.·. W.·. Junior Grand Warden both of Pickaway Lodge No.23. In 1835 Brother Thrall was elected R.·. W.·. Deputy Grand Master and re-elected as such until in 1842, seven years. In 1843 he was elected Most Worshipful Grand Master of Masons in Ohio, and was consecutively reelected as such for four years thereafter.
In 1837 Brother Isaac C. Hunter of No.23 was appointed Grand Chaplain. In 1840 Brother Joseph A. Roof of Pickaway Lodge was appointed Grand Chaplain.
In other Grand Bodies Pickaway Lodge has also been honored, W. Brother Samuel W. Courtright of that lodge having been elected in the Grand Council of Royal and Select Masters as its M. I. Grand Master.
Pickaway Lodge was among the first lodges in owning and occupying its own property. Among easy functions noted in the Grand Lodge Proceedings was the dedication of the second hall owned by Pickaway Lodge, and the Historian in his own experience recalls a delightful observance of similar ceremonies in the dedication of its present commodious hall.
This successful and harmonious Masonic body now numbers two hundred and ten members.
On September 13, 1813, dispensation was granted by M.·. W.·. Brother Henry Brush, Grand Master, to "Army Lodge No.24 at Camp Meigs or any other place where the casualties of war may direct."
Brother William C. Anderson, Colonel of the 24th Regiment U. S. Infantry, was appointed Worshipful Master; Brother William McMillan, Lieutenant Colonel of the 17th Regiment U. S. Infantry, Senior Warden, and Brother Charles Gratiot, Captain of the Corps of engineers, was appointed Junior Warden.
In 1814 Army Lodge was reported as represented in Grand Lodge, bat the name of its representative is not given.
It was never afterwards represented in Grand Lodge, and after 1820 was discontinued from the roll.
On November 17, 1840, a dispensation was "issued" by M.·. W.·. Brother William J. Rees, Grand Master, to "Brother James M. Briston, Caleb West, and others of Piqua, in Miami County, for a new lodge in that place" to be named Warren Lodge No.__. In 1841 it received its charter, dated October 21, 1841. The first officers under its charter were Brothers Jonas Ward, Worshipful Master; J. H. Defrees, Senior Warden, and G. C. Johnston, Junior Warden.
In 1842 Warren Lodge was given the vacant number of the former Army Lodge No.24.
Whilst the history in detail of Warren Lodge No.24 in the order of its constitution will doubtless be submitted later on, it is pertinent to note that among eminent Brethren of that lodge other than mentioned are the names of W. Brothers W. N. Foster and Henry Clay Landis, members for many years of the M.·. W.·. Grand Lodge of Ohio. The present efficient Secretary of Warren Lodge, Brother J. R. Miles, is the grandson of one of the pioneer Ohio Masons, the Reverend Brother Solomon Miles.
The late Hon. J. F. McKinney was a member of No.24.
Warren Lodge No.24 now has two hundred and forty-one members.
October 2, 1813, the Grand Master, M.·. W.·. Brother Henry Brush, issued a dispensation for the organization of a lodge at Athens, Ohio, to be called Paramuthia Lodge No.-. W. Brother John L. Lewis was named as Master; Brother George Walker, Senior Warden, and Brother Timothy Goodrich, Junior Warden.
The charter of Paramuthia No.25 was granted January 5, 1814, with Brothers Charles Shipman, W. M.; Timothy Goodrich, S. W., and Joseph B. Miles, J. W.
The charter was signed M. .W. Brother Henry Brush, Grand Master, and attested by M.·. W.·. Brother Robert Kercheval, Grand Secretary. In 1816 and 1817 Paramuthia Lodge was represented in Grand Lodge by Brother S. S. Miles, a prominent pioneer.
In 1824 and 1826 the Rev. Brother James McAboy of Paramuthia Lodge was appointed Grand Chaplain. In 1820 and 1829 the lodge was not represented, but in 1830 Brother Isaac Norton represented Paramuthia Lodge in Grand Lodge. From that date until in 1842 Paramuthia Lodge succumbed to the anti-Masonic influences of that period, and was dormant.
In this connection Brother James A. Palmer, the present Secretary and Historian of that lodge, states that meetings of Paramuthia Lodge were held in 1834 and 1835.
On June 23, 1842, the Grand Master, M.·. W.·. Brother William J. Bess, issued a "dispensation for Paramuthia Lodge, at Athens, Athens County."
On October 18, 1842, in Grand Lodge, at its Annual Communication, on report and recommendation of the Committee on Charters and Dispensations a charter was granted to Paramuthia Lodge No.25 of Athens.
Although not so stated, it is inferred that the charter of Paramuthia had never been surrendered, and that it came under the resuscitated list and had its dispensation fee returned as in the historical blank of that lodge it is stated that the "old charter was restored."
Prominent among its honored members other than those heretofore mentioned are the names of B. Brother Leonidas Jewett, Grand Treasurer for five years of the M.·. W.·. Grand Lodge of Ohio, and M.·. W.·. Brother Joseph M. Goodspeed, Past Grand Master of Masons, and among those receiving civil honors are Brothers Charles H. Grosvenor, Charles Townsend, and Leonidas M. Jewett.
Although it has had its vicissitudes, having lost two lodge rooms by fire, Paramuthia Lodge No.25 is one of the prosperous lodges of the State, having now a membership of one hundred and eighty.
Lebanon Lodge was organized under dispensation in 1814, the date unknown that it was probably early in that year is evident from the statement of its Historian, Brother Charles A. Hough, M. D., that its first meeting was on May 14, 1814, and that within that year seven meetings were held.
In 1815 the lodge was represented in Grand Lodge by "Brother Daniel Hoc, representative." The Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge commenced on January 2d. On January 4th the Grand Lodge "ordered that the Grand Secretary" prepare a charter for Lebanon Lodge No.26, and a charter dated January 5, 1815, was granted to Lebanon Lodge No.26.
Its charter members, according to the old Grand Lodge Minutes, were Brothers Thomas H. Ross, John Sheets, Nathan Kelly, Daniel Roe, Martin Earhart, Daniel Cushing, Geo. Kesling, and Charles Stone.
The record furnished by Brother Hough omits some of the above, and has instead of them the names of Abner B. Hunt, William Snook, R. C. Talbot, and W. M. Wiles. The charter was signed by M.·. W.·. Brother Henry Brush, as Grand Master, and attested by M.·. W.·. Bro. Robert Kercheval, Grand Secretary.
The first initiates of Lebanon Lodge were Phineas Ross and Oliver Cock; the initiation fee was twenty dollars; twenty-five cents each was paid at each meeting by the members.
Lebanon Lodge was frequently honored by the election of its members to offices in Grand Lodge.
In 1817 Brother Thomas R. Ross was elected Junior Warden; in 1821, Phineas Ross, Deputy Grand Master; in 1818, Brother Thomas B. Van Horn was elected Junior Warden; in 1823, Brother Thomas Corwin was elected Deputy Grand Master, and in subsequent years to other offices, until in 1828 he was elected Grand Master. In 1831 Brother John Satterthwaite of Waynesville, a member of Lebanon Lodge No.26, was elected Grand Master, and in later years Brother Horace M. Stokes was an honored Grand Master of Masons in Ohio, and departed this life whilst serving as such. Brother J. Kelley O'Neal, another member of Lebanon Lodge No.26, was Grand High Priest in the Grand Chapter of Ohio, and Grand Commander of Knights Templars in Ohio.
From 1815 to 1831 inclusive Lebanon Lodge No.26 was represented at every Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge. In 1832 it was not represented, but in 1833 it was represented by Brother S. R. Miller.
From 1834 to 1838 Lebanon Lodge No.26 was not represented in Grand Lodge.
In 1838 Brother Allen Wright, as proxy of Samuel Glenny, submitted his credentials as the representative of that lodge, and "a number of Brethren of Lebanon having manifested a laudable desire to resume their Masonic labors," the Committee on Charters and Dispensations, to whom the matter had been referred, reported that no dues had been received from Lebanon Lodge since 1830, but that "under the circumstances of trying embarrassment, in which they have been placed during the last five years, your committee are induced to propose, for the consideration of the Grand Lodge, the following resolution:
Resolved, That Lebanon Lodge No.26 be authorized to resume labor under its charter; that Brother Wright be admitted to a seat in the present Grand Lodge, as its representative; and that its dues be remitted up to the present date, except so much as may be necessary to defray the expenses of its representation at this Grand Communication.
The resolution was adopted, and Lebanon Lodge No.26 was rehabilitated under its charter.
Since that period named Freemasonry in that locality has resumed its honored position, and Lebanon Lodge, with now a comparatively restricted jurisdiction, numbers two hundred and fourteen members. The Masonic Bodies of Lebanon own and occupy their own building, said to be valued at about $20,000.
February 6, 1815, a dispensation was issued by M.·. W.·. Brother Henry Brush to William A. Needham, W. M.; James Paige, Senior Warden, and Samuel Simonton, as J. W., of a lodge to be established "at Springfield (Champaign County)."
The lodge was not represented in Grand Lodge in 1816, but was in the list of lodges under dispensation ln that year and in 1817, but with no representation also in 1817.
In 1818 Morning Star Lodge was represented in Grand Lodge by Brother David Higgins.
At the session of the Grand Lodge, December 15, 1818, a charter was voted to Morning Star Lodge No.27 and its bylaws were approved.
On the motion of Brother Higgins of that lodge, the Grand Lodge adopted the regulation requiring unanimous vote "for admission to the benefits of Masonry."
At the session of the Grand Lodge, December 16, 1818, it was "ordered, that those subordinate lodges which are working under letters of dispensation, and to which charters have been ordered, but not delivered, be permitted to continue their work under said letters of dispensation until the next Annual Communication, unless their charters be sooner delivered," in Grand Lodge.
In 1819 the lodge was represented in Grand Lodge by Brother C. Cavalier, one of its Wardens, when its dispensation was ordered to be withdrawn, and it was not again represented in Grand Lodge until in 1826, when it was represented by Brother David Higgins (W. M. in 1818).
The old Grand Lodge record states that a dispensation was re-issued to the lodge in 1825. In 1831 it was on the delinquent list, and was subsequently reported as discontinued.
At the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge in 1826 a charter was granted to Morning Star Lodge No.80 of Springfield, "Clark County," but which ceased to exist in 1829-three years later. The reissued dispensation referred to in 1825 was doubtless for a re-organized Morning Star Lodge.
The No.27 is yet vacant, and some other lodges designated as Morning Star Lodge seem to have met the same fate.
A dispensation was issued April 22, 1815, by the Grand Master, M.·. W.·. Brother Henry Brush, for a lodge to be organized at Harpersfield and designated as Temple Lodge. Its first officers were Aaron Wheeler, W. M.; David Brainard, S. W., and Uriah Bartram, J. W. In 1817 it was represented by Brother John Kerr, proxy, and in 1818 by Brother Aaron Wheeler, its W. M. The Grand Lodge, at its session on December 15, 1818, ordered that Temple Lodge be granted a charter, and the old record states that its charter was dated February 5, 1819.
In 1824 it was represented by Brother Samuel Wheeler of Unionville, Geauga County, who at that Grand Communication was elected Grand Junior Warden, and two years later was elected as Grand Master of Masons in Ohio.
In 1827-1829 and 1831 it was not represented in Grand Lodge, and in 1831 was reported in the list of delinquent lodges, and thereafter ceased its existence until in 1842, when a dispensation was granted by the Grand Master, M.·. W.·. Brother William J. Reese, to Temple Lodge of Harpersfield, Ashtabula County.
At the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge held in October, 1842, a charter was granted to Temple Lodge No. - of Harpersfield, Ashtabula County, and the No.28 was subsequently assigned to the new lodge.
In 1843 Temple Lodge No.28 of Harpersfleld and Hiram Lodge, U. D., of Mentor, Geauga County, were consolidated under the 1842 charter of Temple Lodge, and Painesville was made the location of the lodge. In 1844 the lodge was not represented in Grand Lodge. In 1845 it was represented, but from that date until 1849 it was not represented. In 1849 and 1850 its representative was Brother Moses S. Harvey, who was also one of its representatives in 1851.
The first officers of Temple Lodge No.28 of Painesville after its consolidation with Hiram Lodge, U. D., were Brothers Joseph Cook, W. M.; Moses S. Harvey, S. W.; Horace F. Newcomb, J. W.; Elisha Wood, Treasurer, and Nathaniel S. Wheeler, Secretary. Neither the Grand Lodge Proceedings nor the interesting data furnished by Brother Ohl Kils, the present Secretary of the lodge, assign any reason for the four years of non-representation between 1845 and 1849, the lodge then evidently having overcome the effects of the strenuous period through which it had passed.
Temple Lodge No.28 is now one of the prosperous lodges in Ohio. One of its members, Brother John Lane, was honored by his election as M. I. Grand Master in the Grand Council of Royal and Select Masters of Ohio.
The membership of Temple Lodge No.28 is two hundred and thirty-seven.
A dispensation, dated April 16, 1815, and signed by Henry Brush, M.·. W.·. Grand Master, was issued to Brothers Amos Haines as W. M.; William Waters, S. W., and Samuel Simonton as J. W., for a lodge at Williamsburg, Clermont County, to be known as Clermont Social Lodge No._.
In 1816 it was represented in Grand Lodge at the Annual Communication held at Chillicothe in January by Brother Thomas S. Foote, and at that Communication the Grand Lodge granted it a charter as "Clermont Social Lodge No.29." The old Grand Lodge record states that its charter was dated January 4, 1816, and was signed by M.·. W.·. Brother Henry Brush, Grand Master, with Brothers Amos Haines, Thomas J. Foote, N. Sinks, J. Huber, Daniel Kain, Geo. Ely, and Robert Haines as Charter members.
In 1818 and 1819 Clermont Social Lodge was not represented, and in the list of subordinate lodges "no returns" was noted after the name. In 1820 the lodge was represented by Brother Edward Sinks, and from that date until 1829 it was annually represented in Grand Lodge. In 1830, 1831, and 1832, however, it was represented by Brother John or Jonathan Johnston the name is given as both John and Jonathan; and again the name of J. Johnson frequently appears as the representative of Clermont Social Lodge.
Throughout the dark period of Masonry in Ohio, Clermont Social Lodge No.29 was loyally represented in Grand Lodge, with the few exception years noted.
"The history of Freemasonry in Clermont County," by Brother Byron Williams, is a paper of much interest, but of too great length for quotation herein. It should be incorporated in the future history of the Subordinate Lodges F. & A. M. of Ohio that is expected to follow the history of the Grand Lodge.
Among eminent Brethren who have been members of Clermont Social Lodge, Brother Williams notes the names of Lieutenant Hugh Mu1loy of the Revolutionary Army; Colonel Mills Stephenson, noted in 1812 and for whom Fort Stephenson was named; Major Daniel Kain, Captain Thomas Kain, and Captain Robert Haines, all of the War of 1812.
Brother Jonathan D. Morris, a member of Congress from that district, was also an honored member of Clermont Social Lodge.
The lodge has always maintained a modest, conservative existence and numbers ninety-six members.
On May 29, 1815, the Grand Master, M.·. W.·. Brother Henry Brush, issued a dispensation to Brothers Abner Lord, W. M.; John Kerr, Senior Warden; Alexander Morrison, Junior Warden; and others, for the organization of a lodge at Columbus (or Franklinton), Franklin County, to be named Ohio Lodge No.
On January 3, 1816, its charter was issued, signed by M.·. W.·. Brother Henry Brush, Grand Master. The charter members were Brothers Abner Lord, John Kerr, Alexander Morrison, Lincoln Goodale, Gustavus Swan, Benjamin Gardiner, Horace Wolcott, and Joseph Vance.
The old records of the lodge give the town of Franklinton on the west side of the river as the location of the lodge when instituted under dispensation; the Grand Lodge Proceedings and its old record only mention Columbus, and in the list of subordinate lodges published by the Grand Lodge in 1816, Columbus is given as the location of Ohio Lodge No.30.
In 1817 Brother Gustavus Swan of Ohio Lodge, subsequently noted as a lawyer and author, was pointed as Grand Orator. In 1818 Brother Lincoln Goodale of that lodge was elected Grand Treasurer of the Grand Lodge, and for many years thereafter was re-elected as such. Brothers Benjamin Gardiner, Abram Irvin McDowell, and Bela Latham of that lodge were each elected and served a number of years as Grand Secretary. The Grand Lodge record also states that Brothers John L. Starling and John C. Broderick, who were each Grand Secretary, were from Columbus, and therefore doubtless members of Ohio Lodge No.30.
In 1837, at the Animal Communication at Lancaster, the first after its organization under its charter, Ohio Lodge was not reported as represented in Grand Lodge. The Grand Secretary, however, Brother John C. Broderick of Columbus, was present in the discharge of his official duties. The Grand Treasurer, Brother Lincoln Goodale, for so many years in personal attendance, was not present, but sent in his report as Grand Treasurer and was not re-elected.
Brother John C. Broderick of Columbus was elected Grand Junior Warden instead of Grand Secretary. In 1838 he was not in attendance upon Grand Lodge at its annual meeting in Lancaster, neither was Ohio Lodge No.30 otherwise represented.
The Grand Lodge record states that it ceased to exist in 1835, after having weathered the storm of anti-Masonic persecution until that period; with a record of over one hundred raised it doubtless maintained a weak existence for a few years later until it became dormant.
In 1841 the Grand Master, M.·. W.·. Brother William J. Reese, reported in his annual address that: "In the month of February, 1841, I received an application from Brothers J. W. Milligan, B. Latham, P. H. Olmsted, and others, asking that a new lodge might be established in the city of Columbus. The petition being formal and regular, I issued a dispensation on the l0th of February for the creation in that city of Columbus Lodge No. -. I presided myself at the organization of this lodge, and was assisted in that peasing duty by the R.·. W.·. Deputy Grand Master, Brother William B. Thrall."
At the Annual Communication of the Grand. Lodge in 1841 a charter was voted to Columbus Lodge No.-. The charter was issued and dated October 21, 1841, with Brothers William B. Hubbard, Worshipful Master; John W. Milligan, Senior Warden, and Robert Riorden, Junior Warden.
In 1842, at the Annual Meeting of the Grand Lodge a resolution was adopted giving the No.30, then vacant, to Columbus Lodge.
Brother William Blackstone Hubbard, the first W. M. of Columbus Lodge No.30 under its charter, early in his attendance upon Grand Lodge became prominent in its affairs and one of the foremost members. In 1842 he was appointed Grand Orator. His eloquence, learning, and forensic ability became a recognized feature not only in Grand Lodge, but at all the Masonic functions. One of his most satisfactory addresses, in his own opinion, was an address upon the "Five Points of Fellowship," explained by the symbolism of Baron Swedenborg in his "Science of Correspondences." In 1850 he was elected Grand Master of Masons in Ohio, and was reelected in 1851 aud 1852. His ability as a Masonic jurist and his published decisions upon questions of Masonic law have made his opinions a governing factor in Grand Lodge legislation in many other States as well as in Ohio. In this connection he was possessed of that keen perception that enabled him to discriminate readily between those points of difference in statutory and Masonic laws wherein Masonic law is a law unto itself in its being strict justice devoid in all respects of legal technicalities or sophistry; in other words, the embodiment of "Common Sense" features failed of observance in many so-called Masonic decisions. In this connection the Grand Lodge of Ohio subsequently had two other eminent Brethren in its Grand Fast who were distinguished for their legal acumen and as Masonic Jurists, viz: M.·. W.·. Brothers George Rex and Thomas Sparrow.
M.·. W.·. Brother Hubbard was a man of indomitable courage and strong personality. When subsequently elected as Grand Master in the General Grand Encampment of Knights Templars of the United States he was one of the leading advocates in having its name changed to that of Grand Encampment of the United States, and the designation of the State Grand Bodies changed from Grand Encampment to Grand Commandery.
And in this connection through his influence, determined will, and eloquent appeals to knightly honor he prevented the secession of the Grand Encampment of Ohio from the General Grand Encampment of the United States.
Captain John W. Milligan, the first Senior Warden of Columbus Lodge, was in his day a noted, warmhearted Mason, but whose last days were passed in obscurity and embittered by being left alone without family and without means.
Past Grand Master William B. Thrall of Pickaway Lodge affiliated with Columbus Lodge, and in 1848 became its Worshipful Master.
Brother Orestes A. B. Senter, who was honored by the General Grand Council R. & S. M. of the United States, by his election as its chief officer, was also a Past Master of Columbus Lodge.
Brother Joseph M. Stewart was another eminent Brother, a Past Master and honored member of Columbus Lodge, who was honored by the Grand Lodge of Ohio, having served for a number of years as a District Lecturer and as Grand Marshal.
A more complete history of Columbus Lodge No. 30 will doubtless be furnished for future publication m its order by that lodge.
Its well assured prosperity is in evidence in its large membership, which is now five hundred and forty-nine.
Brother Henry Brush, Grand Master, by order of the Grand Lodge at its Annual Meeting held at Chillicothe, January 1, 1816, issued a dispensation dated January 3, 1816, for a new lodge to be established in Fairfield, Greene County, with Brothers Aaron Cassad, as W. M.; Elisha Searl, S. W., aml Smith Dunn, J. W. In 1817 the lodge was represented in Grand Lodge by its Worshipful Master, Brother Cassad, who was appointed Grand Senior Deacon at that Grand Communication.
The charter of Golden Rule Lodge No. 31 was signed by the Grand Master, M.·. W.·. Brother Henry Brush, and dated January 8, 1817. Additional charter members were Brothers Timothy Sean, Uriah Forquar, John Cox, John Cassad, and Gunion Dunn.
The lodge was loyally represented in Grand Lodge continuously until in 1835. The Grand Lodge record states that it "ceased working in 1833." The number is yet vacant.
By order of the Grand Lodge a dispensation was ordered to be issued for the establishment of a lodge at St. Clairsville, Adams County. Accordingly on January 3, 1816, the Grand Master issued a dispensation to Brothers Amos Baldwin, W. M.; John Kincaid, S. W., and Abraham Shepherd as J. W. of Friendship Lodge No.-. A charter was subsequently granted at the Annual Communication in 1817 to Friendship Lodge No.32 at St. Clairsville, subsequently known as Decatur. This lodge had but a brief existence and ceased work in 1824. Its number is still vacant.
On January 4, 1816, M.·. W.·. Brother Henry Brush, Grand Master, in accordance with an order of the Grand Lodge, issued a dispensation for the organization of a lodge at Wooster, Stark County (subsequently Wayne County), Brothers Thomas G. Jones as W. M.; Thomas McMillan, S. W., and William K. Stewart, J. W. Ebenezer Lodge No.- was not represented in Grand Lodge until in 1818, its dispensation having evidently been continued, as then customary, the Senior Warden under its dispensation, Brother Thomas McMillan, being its first representative. At that Annual Communication Ebenezer Lodge No.33 of Wooster was voted a charter and was authorized to continue its work until its charter was received. The old record states that the charter was issued December 13, 1819.
The officers under the charter reported in the historical blank were Brothers Thomas G. Jones, W. M.; Thomas McMillen, S. W., and William Larwill, J. W.
The Worshipful Master, Brother Thomas G. Jones, represented the lodge in Grand Lodge in 1819, and it was annually represented until in 1831 but from 1831 to 1839, a period of nine years, it was not represented in Grand Lodge.
On February 28, 1840, the Grand Master, M.·. W.·. Brother William J. Reese, "issued a dispensation for a new lodge at Wooster," and at the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge at Lancaster on October 20th the new lodge was represented by Brother William Larwill. At that meeting of the Grand Lodge the following resolution was adopted and Ebenezer Lodge No.33 resumed labor:
Resolved, That Ebenezer Lodge No.33 be restored to its former standing in the Grand Lodge; that it be authorized to resume work under its charter, on restoring the dispensation granted during the past year to the Grand Secretary, and that the fees paid for such dispensation be refunded."
From that date Ebenezer Lodge No.33 has been one of the substantiative lodges in this Grand Jurisdiction. In 1847 its representative was Brother George Rex; for many years Brother Rex was frequently a representative of Ebenezer Lodge. In 1861 he was elected as Grand Master of Masons in Ohio, and reelected as such in 1862. He was also honored in the Grind Chapter of Royal Arch Masons of Ohio by having been elected as M. F. Grand High Priest in that Grand Body. A man of fine intellect, a profound thinker, a forcible speaker and of a dignified character, he was one of the eminent Masonic jurists by whom this Grand Jurisdiction has been honored. Celebrated as a lawyer by the legal fraternity of Ohio, he was elevated to the bench of its Supreme Court, but was "summoned to the world beyond" whilst yet enjoying his legal honors.
Brother Leander Firestone, a member of Ebenezer Lodge, was the recipient of Masonic honors by being elected as Grand High Priest in the Grand Chapter of Royal Arch Masons of Ohio.
Ebenezer Lodge No.33 now has a membership of one hundred and sixty-two.
February 10, 1816, a dispensation was issued by M.·. W.·. Brother Henry Brush, Grand Master, to Brothers Rial McArthur, W. M.; Amos Spiers, S. W., and Aaron Norton, J. W., for Middlebury Lodge No.34 at Middlebury, Portage County, Ohio.
December 21, 1818, it was chartered as Middlebury Lodge No.34 by order of the Grand Lodge. Brother Rial McArthur, the Worshipful Master of Middlebury Lodge, was prominent in each Grand Lodge affairs, and as the Worshipful Master of Unity Lodge No.12 was appointed Grand Senior Deacon by the Grand Master, M.·. W.·. Brother Henry Brush.
After a brief working period of but ten years Middlebury Lodge ceased to exist, and No.34 is yet a vacant number on the Grand Lodge roll.
At the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge at Chillicothe in 1814 a memorial was presented relative to a lost petition for a lodge to be organized at Mansfield. The matter was referred to a committee, whose report stated that "it was a subject upon which this Grand Lodge could take no action"
No further mention is made in the Grand Lodge Proceedings of a proposed lodge at Mansfield until in 1816, when the name of Mansfield Lodge is included in the list of lodges working under dispensation. In the old Grand Lodge record of charters and dispensations, however, it is stated that a dispensation, dated February 10, 1816, was issued to Brothers John Garrison, W. M.; James Hedges, S. W., and William Webster, J. W., for the organization of Mansfield Lodge No. - at Mansfield, Richland County, Ohio.
At the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge at Chillicothe, January 6, 1817, it was "Ordered that the Brethren of Mansfield Lodge have a renewal of their dispensation," and the lodge is named in the appended list of that year of lodges working under dispensation.
At the meeting of the Grand Lodge in August, 1817, Mansfield Lodge was represented by the Grand Secretary, R.·. W.·. Brother Robert Kercheval, as its proxy.
At the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge held at Columbus, December 14 to 17, 1818, a charter was voted to Mansfield Lodge No. 35 at Mansfield, and in the old Record it is stated that a charter was issued to Mansfield Lodge No. 35 at Mansfield, Richland County, dated December 31, 1818.
In 1819 no returns were made to the Grand Lodge, but in 1820, for the first time in its history, it was regularly represented in Grand Lodge, Brother Royal D. Simons being its representative. The lodge was also represented by Brothers James hedges, Jacob Parker, and Jacob Diennan.
From 1831 to 1836 inclusive the lodge succumbed to the malign influence of the anti-Masonic persecutions, and within that period it was not represented in Grand Lodge. In 1837 Brother J. A. Reed was sent as the representative of Mansfield Lodge No.35 to the Grand Lodge at its session held at Lancaster, June 22, 1837.
The Credential Committee on its motion referred the report of Mansfield Lodge to the Committee on Charters and Dispensations, and on report and recommendation of that committee it was "Resolved, That the return of said lodge be received and the dues remitted, and that the representative of said lodge be entitled to a seat in the Grand Lodge."
Accordingly Brother J. A. Reed was recognized as a member of the Grand Lodge, and at that Grand Communication was appointed Grand Senior Deacon. Its resuscitation was evidently not successful, as the lodge was not represented from 1838 to 1841.
At the Annual Communication of the M.·. W.·. Grand Lodge held at Lancaster, October 19-21, 1841, the Deputy Grand Master, R.·. W.·. Brother William B. Thrall, reported that he bad issued a dispensation "to Mansfield Lodge No.35 on the 28th day of April, 1841, on written application of a competent number of Brethren of said lodge." The Committee on Charters and Dispensations, to whom the dispensation was referred, reported, recommending that a charter "be granted to Mansfield Lodge No. -' Mansfield,". which was concurred in by the Grand Lodge. Nothing further is mentioned and it is inferred that the new charter was issued in reasonable time thereafter, but in their own history it is claimed that their charter was issued in 1843, a year later probably than is correct.
In 1841 Brother James Stuart represented the lodge, and in 1842 it was reported in the list of chartered lodges, with Brothers R. W. McNeily and William Hatfield as its representatives, and as Mansfield Lodge No.35, it having been accorded its old number.
In 1843 Mansfield Lodge No.35 was represented by three of its members in the list of chartered lodges.
From that time forward Mansfield Lodge has had a prosperous existence. Among its members receiving Masonic honors may be mentioned District Lecturers Brothers Joseph Hildreth and F. H. Marquis and Brother Huntington Brown, a Past Grand Commander of Knights Templar of Ohio.
On its roll there are now four hundred and seventy-four members.
August 8, 1816, M.·. W.·. Brother Henry Brush, Grand Master, issued a dispensation for the organization of a lodge at Atwater, Portage County, Ohio. Its officers named in the dispensation were Brothers Alva Day, W. Master; Daniel Hillyer, Sen. Warden; Lewis Fly, Junior Warden. In December, 1818, the lodge was voted a charter by the Grand Lodge, and at that Annual Meeting, Portage lodge was represented by Brother John Campbell. In 1819, whilst not represented in Grand Lodge, its "returns" gave its location, as "Deerfield" instead of Atwater. Brother Lewis Fly was reported as W. M.; Brother Alex. Hubbard, S. W.; Brother Philato Hillyer, J. W., and Brother Ira Morse, Secretary. The lodge ceased to exist in 1820, and its number is vacant.
Acknowledgments are due to District Lecturer W. Brother Walton H. Parker of Mt. Moriah Lodge for the following interesting history:
Mt. Moriah Lodge No.37 F. & A. M. was established at Waterford, Washington County, Ohio, ir accordance with a dispensation issued by Henry Brush Grand Master, to Brothers Ebenezer Bowen, Master Eli Cogswell, S. W., and Obadiah Scott, J. W., to hold a lodge of Ancient York Masons.
This dispensation was issued September 28, 1816, and on the fourth of the following November a meeting was held at the home of Brother John Dodge and additional officers were elected as follows: William Rand, Treasurer; William Ripley, Secretary; William White, S. D.; Elias Woodruff, J. D.; John Dodge, S. S.; Andrew Story, J. S., and Samuel Andrews, Tyler; Reuben Culver was also present at this meeting.
"John Dodge was a native of Beverly, Massachusetts, and came to Marietta in the original company of forty-eight who landed at the mouth of the Muskingum River, April 7, 1788. In April, 1789, the settlement at Waterford (now Beverly) was formed. In this company of pioneers was found John Dodge, in whose house in 1816 the first Masonic lodge meeting was held, as stated above. This old house is standing in Beverly today in an excellent state of preservation.
Lodge meetings were held regularly after the institution of the lodge, at 3 P. M. on the Thursday preceding every full moon, at the Dodge residence. The first initiations were Jeremiah Wilson and Samuel Beach, November 28, 1816, and Stephen Devol at the December communication. Its first members were the leading men of the community."
In 1818, at the annual session of the Grand Lodge, December 15th, Mt. Moriah Lodge was voted a charter, which was issued February 5, 1819.
"In the winter of 1825 the lodge changed its place of meeting to the residence of Ebenezer Bowen on the west side of the river. This handsome old residence of brick, bearing on the keystone of the arch of the front door the date 5824, stands today in the village of Waterford. During the year 1828 the lodge met at the house of Barzillia Coburn. In 1829 it met in a room in a building at Waterford, where now stands the old brick store building of the Bowens. During the year 1831 but three meetings were held, this being the year of the Anti-Masonic movement which swept over the country. In June, 1831, eight of the Brethren met at the hall and decided to defy popular feeling by celebrating St. John's Day with a public procession. The members who participated in this demonstration were Benjamin Soule, James Bowen, Adelphia Webster, Charles Bowen, Stephen Devol, George Bowen, Jeremiah Wilson, and Barzillia Coburn. The procession organized at the hall and marched with music to the church, where they organized a meeting and pledged each other to stand by the order, regardless of popular clamor. In 1832 it became necessary for the lodge to give up their room, and no other suitable meeting-place could be found. Work had to be suspended and no meetings were held until October, 1843. On that date, John Keyhoe, William Wilson, Ambrose Elliott, William Kearns, Jeremiah Wilson, Charles S. Corey, John Dodge, Charles Bowen, Charles Story, Atkinson and George Bowen, met and memorialized the Grand Lodge. That body accordingly instructed Mt. Moriah Lodge to resume its labors and discharged it from all Grand Lodge dues during the time it ceased labor.
"The first regular meeting was held January 4, 1844, officers were elected and from that time to the present work has not ceased in this old lodge. In 1845 the lodge was again out of a home, and no suitable place being found in Beverly or Waterford, the Brethren accepted the hospitality of Brother Samuel Beach, at Coal Run, five miles away, and met in his home for the period of about one year. Then they returned to Beverly, where they met in a number of places until the completion of their own commodious lodge building in 1879. The cornerstone of this structure was laid with Masonic ceremonies June 24, 1878. From that time on the lodge has continued to grow and prosper, and the handful of Brethren, who met at the home of Brother John Dodge that November afternoon in 1816, have grown to be a strong lodge of 120 members and one of the acknowledged forces for good in the community.
"Mt. Moriah Lodge was honored by the appointment of W. Brother John C. Preston as District Lecturer of the 17th District, and his successor, W. Brother Walton H. Parker. A further history of this pioneer lodge will doubtless be published in its order.
"Conrad Schouman, a pioneer member, was a Frenchman and steward to Louis XVI of France. His diploma, issued by the Grand Orient of France, dated 1798, and his lambskin apron are much prized relics of his descendants in this community today.
"Samuel Cushing, whose death was the first to occur among the Brethren of Mt. Moriah Lodge, was one of the original forty-eight pioneers who landed at Marietta, April 7, 1788.
"The present Master of the lodge, Dr. F. T. Hayward, is a grandson of one of the lodge's first initiates, Stephen Devol."
A dispensation was issued January 9, 1817, by M.·. W.·. Brother Henry Brush to Brothers George W. Barnes, W. M.; Henry Davis, S. W.; Samuel Daniel, J. W., for the establishment of Highland Lodge No. - at Hillsboro, Highland County, Ohio.
It was represented in Grand Lodge in 1818 by Brother George R. Fitzgerald, and at that Grand Communication it was ordered to be continued under dispensation for another year. In 1819 Highland Lodge was represented in Grand Lodge by Brother George W. Barren, and at that Annual Meeting it was voted a charter by the Grand Lodge. The charter subsequently issued was dated December 21, 1819; and numbered 38.
This loyal lodge has an enviable record, as from 1818 to 1842, through all of the dark days of Freemasonry, Highland Lodge was represented at every Annual Meeting of the Grand Lodge except in the years 1829, 1834, and 1836. Among its early members were Brothers Richard Collins, William A. Johnson, and Moses H. Kirby.
R.·. W.·. Brother John M. Barrere of Highland Lodge was for three years Grand Junior Warden in the Grand Lodge of Ohio, and was honored by being elected as the presiding officer of the Grand Council of Royal and Select Masters of Ohio. He was an officer in the Union Army during the Civil War and lost an arm in its service. Judge Wm. M. Meek was another honored member of that lodge.
The local history of Highland Lodge No.38 would doubtless be of much interest if written up, but, as the historical blank has not been filled and returned for its use herein, this meager notice must suffice.
The present membership of this pioneer lodge is one hundred and ten.
February 4, 1817, a dispensation was granted for the establishment of a lodge at New Haven, Huron County, to be called New Haven Lodge No. -' with Samuel W. Carpenter W. M.; Henry Barney S. W., and Belden Kellogg, J. W.
At the Annual Meeting of the Grand Lodge at Chillicothe in August, 1817, a charter was granted to New Haven Lodge No.39. In 1819 it reported as its officers Brothers Lemuel Powers, W. M.; James McIntire, S. W.; Martin M. Kellogg, J. W., and David Powers, Secretary.
It was discontinued in 1824, and its number (39) is vacant on the Grand Lodge roll.
A dispensation was issued to Brothers Almon Gibbs, W. M.; William Griffith, S. W., and Charles Gunn, J. W., by Grand Master M.· . W.·. Henry Brush for the organization of a lodge at Waynesfield, Champaign County. The old dispensation record gives its name as Waynesfield Lodge No.40, doubtless an error, as the Grand Lodge record gives the name as Northern Light No.40, at Waynesfield, and in that year the lodge was represented in the Grand Lodge by Grand Master Brush as its proxy. In 1818 the W. M., Brother Almon Gibbs, was its representative in Grand Lodge, and at that annual Communication, December 15, 1818, a charter was voted to Northern Light Lodge No.40.
The charter was issued December 21, 1818, and signed by M.· . W.·. Brother Chester Griswold, Grand Master. Brothers S. B. Thurston, Sheldon Johnson, David Johnson, Eben Ward, William Preston, and J C. Adams, in addition to the first named officers, were also charter members.
The location of the lodge was stated in the Grand Lodge list of 1830 to be Perrysburg.
One of its last representatives in Grand Lodge was Brother Eleutheros Cooke (1824). In 1827 it was represented by the Grand Secretary and was not again represented. The Grand Lodge record states that it was discontinued in 1828.
In 1845 a memorial was received asking for the resuscitation of Northern Light Lodge at Maumee, Lucas County being the same location as formerly, but with changed name of town and county.
The memorial was a strong plea for rehabilitation and was referred to a special committee. On their report, it was subsequently referred to another committee, of which the Grand Master was chairman, with power to act.
At the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge at Dayton, October 20, 1846, the Grand Master, W. Brother William B. Thrall, reported that the committee to whom it was referred had decided that it was expedient to revive the charter, and accordingly on October 24, 1845, the charter was restored. In 1847, Northern Light Lodge No.40 was again represented in Grand Lodge, Brother Andrew Young, its W. M., being its representative.
Among the Brethren of that lodge whose names are prominent in Masonic and civil affairs may be mentioned R.·. W.·. Brother Octavius Waters, a Senior Grand Warden in the Grand Lodge of Ohio; Judge David R. Austin, of Toledo; General James B. Steadman, of Chickamauga fame, and others.
It is to be hoped that the Historian of that lodge, Brother J. F. Wilcox, will prepare its history for future publication.
Northern Light Lodge No.40 has maintained a conservative existence and has ninety-two members on its roll.
May 9, 1817, M.· . W.·. Brother Henry Brush issued a dispensation to Brothers Steven C. Stevens, W. M.; John Jacobs, S. W.; and George L. Mardock, J. W., to organize Brookville Harmony Lodge No. -, at Brookville, Indiana. At the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge in August, 1817, its dispensation was ordered to be "continued until the next Meeting of the Grand Lodge."
At that Grand Communication the lodge was represented by its W. M., Brother W. C. Stevens. In 1818 it was represented by Brother Andrew Wallace, and in that year was granted a charter as No.41. The lodge was reported in 1819, but its charter was subsequently withdrawn and its number (41) has since remained vacant.
The dispensation for the Organization of Western Phoenix Lodge No. - was issued by M.·. W.·. Brother Henry Brush, May 28, 1817, to Brothers Otis Guild, M.·. W.·.; James T. Andrews, S. W.; and Charles C. Paine, J. W. Its charter was granted at the Annual Communication in December, 1818, and at that Annual Meeting it was represented by Brother Aaron Wheeler. In 1819 its officers, under its charter, were Brothers Charles C. Paine, W. M.; John M T. Scott, S. W.; S. H. Williams, J. W.; and Barton F. Avery, Secretary.
It was reported in the delinquent list in 1831, and the Grand Lodge record states that its existence ceased in 1828. The number 42 is yet a vacant number on the Grind Lodge roster.
This lodge was organized under a dispensation issued by Grand Master Brush, June 6, 1817, to Brothers A Holingsworth, W. M.; Samuel Treat, S. W. ; and John Kinhead, J. W. Its Senior Warden, Brother Samuel Treat, represented the lodge in Grand Lodge in 1817 and in 1818. It was ordered to be continued under dispensation in 1818 and in 1819, and was granted a charter in 1820, which was issued December 15th of that year. The lodge was represented in Grand Lodge by Brothers John Patterson, John Kincaid, John McDaid, Daniel P. Wilkins, and others, hut was not represented after 1835, and although it passed through the violent period of persecutions, it became dormant and was discontinued in 1837.
In 1846 M..·. W.·. Brother William B. Thrall, Grand Master reported to the Grand Lodge that a dispensation was issued to Brothers A. Hollingsworth, William Allen, E. S. Moore, Joseph Sprague, A. McGoveny, D. W. Stapleton, William Records, and John C. Scott, for West Union Lodge, at West Union, Adams County. The lodge was represented in Grand Lodge by Brother A. Hollingsworth at the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge held in Dayton, October 20, 1846, and at that meeting, on recommendation of the Committee on Charters and Dispensations, the Grand Lodge ordered that a charter should be "issued" to the lodge. It is also inferred that its dispensation fee was refunded, as it was restored to its old number. Since that period West Union Lodge No.43 has pursued an "even tenor" of existence, with a present membership of sixty-eight.
On September 29, 1817, a dispensation was issued by Grand Master Henry Brush to Brothers Othniel Looker, MT. Al.; James Hartpence, S. W.; and Andrew Wallace, I W., for Columbia Lodge No. - at Harrison, now Miami, Hamilton County.
In 1818 the Grand Lodge ordered that it should be continued under dispensation until the next Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge. In 1819, at the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge at Columbus in December, Columbia Lodge No. 44 was granted a charter, which was issued and dated May 1, 1820.
Among its early representatives in Grand Lodge were Brothers Othniel Looker, John T. Jones, Samuel McHenry, J. Crookshank, and J. Coinstock.
Although occasionally not represented in Grand Lodge, Columbia Lodge No.44 maintained its continues loyal existence throughout the anti-Masonic period, and whilst its membership was never large, owing doubtless to the many other lodges in that county, and at this time has hit fifty-four members upon its roll, yet it occupies a high position among the pioneer lodges of Ohio.
November 6, 1817, a dispensation was granted for the establishment of a lodge at Steubenville by Grand Master Brush to Brothers Peleg S. Mason, W. M.; James L. Fenton, S. W., and Wright Warner, J. W.
In 1818 it was continued under dispensation, and its charter was voted in December, 1819, and issued January 24, 1820.
In its "return" to the Grand Lodge in 1819 the officers reported were Brothers Peleg S. Mason, W. M.; Samuel Stokely, S. W.; Adam Wise, J. W.; and James Jenkinson, Secretary.
Steubenville Lodge No.45 was one of the most faithful among the pioneer lodges from its constitution under its charter and through the anti-Masonic persecutions. The years 1828 and 1837 are the only years in which it was not represented in Grand Lodge.
It was honored in Grand Lodge by having two of its members elected as Grand Master of Masons in Ohio M..·. W.·. Brother John M. Goodenow in 1827, and M.·. W.·. Brother Asa H. Battin in 1872 to 1874 (three years).
Th 1859-1860 M.·. W.·. Brother Captain George Webster was elected Senior Grand Warden, but before his further promotion gave up his life in the service of his country at the battle of Perrysville.
In its list of noted men in its membership are the honored names of the Hon. Edwin M. Stanton, Secretary of War under President Lincoln; the Hon. Benjamin Tappan, United States Senator, and the Hon. Rees G. Richards, former State officer and judge. On November 10,1885, Meridian Lodge No.238, organized under dispensation in 1852 and granted a charter dated October 18, 1854, was consolidated with Steubenville Lodge No.45, whose membership is now one hundred and forty.
The locality of Steubenville is historically of much Masonic interest, as but about three and one-half unless south was situated the celebrated Mingo Town, the home of Logan, the Mingo Chief, and one of the earliest Northwest Territory lodges was warranted as Mingo Lodge by the M..·. W.·. Grand Lodge of Pennsylvania. But doubtless owing to the transient character of its pioneer membership, its existence was of but a few years' duration.
A dispensation was issued for the formation of Miami Lodge No. - at Cincinnati, to Brothers Luman Watson, W. M.; Isaac Hough, S. W.; and Daniel Roe, J. W., January 7, 1818. On December 21st of the same year it was chartered with Brothers Joseph Jones, E. B. Cook, Chris. Dart, Luman Watson, Isaac Hough, Daniel Roe, Stephen Burroughs, Jonathan Carleton, Oliver Fairchild, Ben A. Porter, and Solomon Cisco as its charter members.
At the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge held in Columbus, December 15-17, 1818, Miami Lodge No.46 was represented by Brother F. B. Cooke. In 1819 its officers under its charter were Brothers Davis Embree, W. M.; Moses Brooks, S. W.; Alexander McGrew, J. W.; and Christopher Dart, Secretary.
From its organization, under dispensation, this lodge was continuously represented in Grand Lodge at every Annual Communication and through the dark period of Masonic persecutions; 1836 was the only year unrepresented. Its loyalty and constancy to Freemasonry are deservedly entitled to the commendation of the Craft.
Among the distinguished names in its membership may be noted that of the lion. Alonzo Taft, eminent as jurist, statesman, and as a member of President Lincoln's Cabinet. Washington McLean, the proprietor of the Cincinnati Enquirer, was also a member of Miami Lodge No.46. The roster of this lodge shows 303 members.
On August 21, 1818, a dispensation was issued for the establishment of Ripley Lodge No.47 at Ripley, Brown County, but for some reason it was discontinued in 1819 and never received a charter, and the number became vacant.
In 1835, M.·. W.·. Brother William J. Reese, Grand Master, issued a dispensation for the organization of a lodge at Massillon, Stark County. At the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge commencing January 4, 1836, the lodge was continued under dispensation "until the next regular Communication of the Grand Lodge."
At the next Meeting of the Grand Lodge, at Lancaster, a charter was voted to Clinton Lodge No.103, located at Massillon, Stark County, on June 23, 1837, with Brothers George D. Hine, W. M.; Joseph G. Hogan, S. W.; and Sylvanus Buckins, J. W. In 1838 the lodge was not represented in Grand Lodge, but in 1839 it was represented by Brother George D. Hine.
In 1842 the number of Clinton Lodge was changed from 103 to the vacant No.47, there being two lodges numbered 103.
Brother George D. Hine was elected Senior Grand Warden by the Grand Lodge in 1842. Brother Kent Jarvis, of that lodge, was honored by his election as Grand Commander of Knights Templar of Ohio. And in the same Grand Body, Brother David Atwater also of Clinton Lodge, was elected Grand Captain General. In the Grand Chapter of Ohio two of its members were honored with official positions: Brother James W. Underhill, a former member, was elected as Grand High Priest, and Brother William F. Rudenstein was elected Grand king; and in the Grand Lodge, Brother Charles H. Garrigues was the District Lecturer in that Masonic district for some years.
In civil affairs, Brother Thomas W. Harvey, who served as W. M. of Clinton Lodge for a number of years, was elected as State Commissioner of Public Schools. He was also eminent as an author and lecturer in educational lines.
Clinton Lodge No. 47 has 227 members upon its roll.
A dispensation was granted on August 21, 1818, to Brothers Ezra Osborne, N. K. Clough, and Reuben Waite for the formation of Aurora Lodge No.48 at Portsmouth, Scioto County. At the Annual Meeting of the Grand Lodge held December 15, 1818, Aurora Lodge No.48 was continued under dispensation until the following Communication of the Grand Lodge (1819).
At the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge in 1819 or thereafter there is no mention made in the Grand Lodge Proceedings of granting a charter to Aurora Lodge No.48 of Portsmouth. The lodge was not represented in Grand Lodge in 1819, but its "return" is published, in which it is stated that its officers were Brothers Samuel Gann, W. M.; Thomas Walter, S. W.; George Clarke, Jr., J. W.; and Marc Bosworth, Secretary.
In a Grand Lodge roster published in I 856 it is stated that its charter was issued December 15, 1820.
No attention having been given to the historical bank sent to Aurora Lodge No.48 for the necessary information, it is impossible to give other historical matter relating to this pioneer lodge that would doubtless be of much interest.
Among the prominent names recalled who were members of Aurora Lodge were Brothers G. S. B. Hemstead, Arthur C. Davis, the Reverend Erastus Burr, and Francis Cleveland. In 1850 the Reverend Brother Erastus Burr was appointed Grand Chaplain of the M.·. W.·. Grand Lodge of Ohio.
The Annual Report of Aurora Lodge No.48 shows a present membership of 386.
On December 1, 1818, a dispensation was issued to William F. Elkins, W. M.; Joshua Martin, S. W.; and O. Roberts, J. W., to establish Xenia Lodge No. - at Xenia, Greene County, Ohio. At the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge in 1819 it was voted a charter, which was issued December 17, 1519. Among its members were Brothers John Smith, Caleb West, Abner Reed, and Amasa Reed. Up to 1832 is was regularly represented in Grand Lodge, but the Masonic persecutions of that period prevailed and the Grand Lodge record states that its existence ceased in 1832.
In 1846 the Grand Master, M.· . W.·. Brother Wm. B. Thrall issued a dispensation to Brothers John Hiveling Hiram C. Brown, John A. Gowdy, A. Hiveling, W. T. Stark, M. Chambers, James Collier, Charles Anthony, and others for the re-establishment of Xenia Lodge.
At the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge held at Dayton, commencing October 20, 1846, Xenia Lodge No.49 was rehabilitated under its charter as No. 49. Since then it has maintained its continued existence.
The absence of any historical report from
that lodge prevents other than this brief mention.
The membership of Xenia Lodge No.49 is now 273.
On January 29, 1819, a dispensation was issued to Science Lodge No. at Sandusky City in Erie County. The annual return of the lodge to the Grand Lodge in December, 1819, reports the following officers: Brothers Hector Kilbourne, W. M.; S. B. Carpenter, S. W.; Henry Fuller, J. W., and Eleutheros Cooke, Secretary, December 12, 1820, the Grand Lodge voted a charter to the lodge as Science Lodge No.50.
No return having been made of the historical blank sent therefor, the date of the charter can not be given herein.
In 1820 it was represented by Brother Lyman Farnell. After 1836 it was not again represented in Grand Lodge, but evidently yielded to the anti-Masonic pressure then prevalent, although at that time the clouds were breaking away and Freemasonry was again being placed in the high position to which it was entitled.
Twelve years later, on September 4, 1848, M.·. W.·. Brother Michael Z. Kreider, Grand Master, issued a dispensation to Brothers George R. Morton, William B. Smith, Harvey Camp, C. D. Moorhouse, David Powers, Eleutheros Cooke, Thomas Hogg, and H. Howe for the establishment of "Science Lodge at Sandusky, Erie County."
At the meeting of the Grand Lodge held at Columbus, commencing with September 25, 1848, Science Lodge was represented by Brother George R. Morton.
On September 26th, at that session the Grand Lodge ordered that a charter should be issued to Science Lodge, at Sandusky, Erie County, to be No.50.
Since that period Science Lodge has continued to be one of the prosperous lodges in Ohio. It is much regretted that no data whatever has been received concerning its history or even the names of the many eminent Brethren who are or who have been members of Science Lodge No.50.
The present membership of Science Lodge is 167.
January 22, 1819, a dispensation was issued for the organization of a lodge at Monroe in the Territory of Michigan to be designated Monroe Lodge No. -. In its "Return" to the Grand Lodge in that year its officers are reported as follows: Brothers Samuel Felt, W. M.; Benjamin Davis, S. W.; James Owens, J. W., and Isaac Lee, Secretary.
The existence of the lodge was evidently brief, as it was never chartered and was placed in the list of "discontinued lodges." The number since then has remained vacant.
At the Annual Communication of the Grand Lodge in 1818 a dispensation was ordered to be issued to Brothers Amasa Truesdal, Reuben Adams, Stephen Bosworth, John Bapt DuMont, and others for the organization of Aurora Lodge at Wilmington in Clinton County.
Its dispensation was issued February 8, 1819, but the lodge was soon after discontinued, no charter having been granted.
On November 15, 1841, a dispensation was granted by the Grand Master, M.·. W.·. Brother William J. Reese, for the establishment of a lodge at Wilmington, Clinton County, which was designated by the Grand Lodge in 1842 as Wilmington Lodge No.52, its charter having been granted by the Grand Lodge at its session on October 18, 1842.
The absence of any historical report whatever from No.52 prevents other than this very unsatisfactory mention.
Its representative in Grand Lodge in 1842 was Brother Levi Gustin. Brother Jabez Harlan was a prominent member of the Grand Lodge for many years, and in more recent times the lodge was honored by the election of the late Brother William W. Savage as Grand High Priest of Royal Arch Masons in Ohio.
The roll of Wilmington Lodge No.52 shows a membership of seventy-five.
Back to Ohio Masonic History Previous Next