Elected Officers

Appointed Officers

Grand Court Representatives Past Grand Royal Matrons/Patrons




Amaranth Fights Diabetes

Tax Free Donations

American Diabetes Assn

NJ Grand Lodge


Amaranth Diabetes Foundation








All the members of the Amaranth are aware of the "age-old" concept, that "That Charity is truest and noblest which treads in silence and secrecy all of its ways, not letting the left hand know what the right hand doeth."  To this end, the Order founded the AMARANTH DIABETES FOUNDATION  to raise funds for diabetes research.  All money raised is passed directly to the American Diabetes Association for specific research projects.  No overhead charges are applied by the AMARANTH DIABETES FOUNDATION.  



The Foundation was started by Past Supreme Royal Matron, Honored Lady Marie Waters, of Connecticut.  It was her goal to give the Order a specific charity with which it could be associated and work for throughout the year.  At the Supreme Assembly of 1979 the Supreme Council adopted the AMARANTH DIABETES FOUNDATION and established an irrevocable Trust Fund for the purpose of using one voluntary charity project.  ALL Members of the Order are automatically members of this Foundation.

This action was discussed and finally taken after several years of legal research on the establishment of such a single voluntary charitable project.  It being the belief that by so doing the Order would obtain greater recognition for its charitable efforts and donations.  Each Subordinate Court and Grand Court was encouraged to continue to support, additionally, local and national organizations or charities of their choice.

The Order of the Amaranth is a fraternal organization composed of the female relatives of Master Mason and Master Masons.



In 1979 the Amaranth Diabetes Foundation, Inc. was established and since then the Foundation has donated in excess of $9 million dollars to the American Diabetes Association (ADA) Research Foundation. The ADA has recognized several Amaranth Grand Courts for the stellar effort of their members in raising funds to find a cure for diabetes. The following Grand Courts have been recognized by ADA at our Supreme Assembly for donating a cumulative total of over $250,000; New York in 1999, Florida in 2000, Georgia in 2001, Washington in 2002, California in 2003, Virginia in 2004, Arizona in 2005 and North Carolina in 2005. ADA also recognized the Grand Court of Pennsylvania for donating over $1,000,000 in 2005. The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Grand Court had an outstanding year in 2002 when they donated $104,460.48 and were honored when a grant was given to the Children's Hospital in Pittsburgh.  

In the years of 2002 and 2003, Supreme Council Order of the Amaranth had milestone years. They gave donations of $554,000 and $514,000 respectively.   This allowed ADA to award 5 research grants to researchers at the University of Alabama at Birmingham, Georgetown University Medical Center, University of Iowa, Washington University School of Medicine, and the University of Washington & VA Puget Sound Health Care System.

 The ADA presented the Supreme Council Order of the Amaranth the "Charles H. Best" Medal in 1996 for distinguished service in fight to find a cure for diabetes. Supreme Royal Matron, Honored Lady Sara Ann Seibert and Supreme Royal Patron, Sir Knight Richard D. "Ned" Kelly were honored to accept the award on the behalf of Supreme Council.


Amaranth Diabetes Foundation, Inc.
Board of Directors
2013 - 2014

Elected Members
Office Name Jurisdiction Term Ends
President S. K. George E. Pavlik Pennsylvania 2014 
Vice-President H. L. Elizabeth S. Herbolsheimer Massachusetts 2016 
Treasurer S. K. Robert W. Hagen Louisiana 2016 
Secretary H. L. Sally A. Acuff Wisconsin 2014 
Members H. L. Lynn Maxwell Ontario 2013 
Members S. K. Jack Ervin II Indiana 2014 
Members H. L. Ima C. Dunn Colorado 2015 
Members S. K. Richard Wing California 2015 
Members H. L. Barbara Lott Connecticut 2015 
Member & President-Emeritus H. L. Marie Loeffler Waters Connecticut Emeritus 
Secretary Emeritus H. L. Mary Virginia Robertson Virginia Secretary Emeritus 
Members by virtue of their Supreme Office
Supreme Royal Matron H. L. Lynda Dobbins Ohio
Supreme Royal Patron S. K. David L. Ekren Virginia
Supreme Associate Matron H. L. Victoria G. Ault Alaska
Supreme Associate Patron S. K. Del Militare Colorado
Supreme Conductress H. L. Dianne Dean Virginia
Supreme Associate Conductress H. L. Jeanne Milton Oklahoma



Amaranth Fights Diabetes