The Eagle of Lagash

History of the Eagle


"The Double Headed Eagle of Lagash" is the oldest Royal Crest in the World... No emblematic device of today can boast of such antiquity. Its origin has been traced to the ancient city of Lagash. It was in use a thousand years before the Exodus from Egypt and more than two thousand years before the building of "King Solomon's Temple."

"As time rolled on, it passed from the Sumerians to the men of Akkad, from the men of Akkad to the Hittites, from the denizens of Asia Minor to the Seljukian Sultans from whom it was brought by the Crusaders to the Emperors of the East and West, whose successors were the Hapsburgs and the Romanoffs."

"In recent excavations, the city-emblem of Lagash was disclosed also as a lion headed eagle sinking his claws into the bodies of two lions standing back to back. This is evidently a variant of the other eagle symbol".

"The city of Lagash is in Sumer in Southern Babylonia, between the Euphrates and the Tigris and near the modern Shatra in Iraq, Lagash had a calender of twelve lunar months, a system of weights and measures, a banking and accounting system and was a center of art, literature, military and political power, five thousand years before Christ".

"In 102 B.C. the Roman Consul Marius decreed that the Eagle be displayed as a symbol of Imperial Rome. Later, as a world power, Rome used the Double-Headed Eagle, one head facing the East the other facing the West, symbolizing the universality and unity of the Empire. The Emperors of the Holy Roman Empire continued its use and the symbol was adopted later in Germany during the halcyon days of conquest and imperial power".

So far as is known, the Double-Headed Eagle was first used in Freemasonry in 1758 by a Masonic Body in Paris - the Emperors of the East and West. During a brief period the Masonic Emperors of the East and West controlled the advanced degrees then in use and became a precursor of the "Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite".

The Latin caption under the Double-Headed Eagle - "Spes Mea in Deo Est" translated is "My Hope Is In God".


Boyer Chapter Commanders of the Rite




Year Elevated

Allen, Jacob B. Active 1981
Atkins, John T  Inactive 1999
Blalock, Charles B. Inactive  1992
Blaylock, Joseph N. Active  2001
Brown, Robert E. Inactive 1979
Butler, Ernest Active
Butler, Weston B. Active  1981
Carmon, M. Trent Active 1993
Chavis, Clarence E. Active 1985
Coward, Wilbert.   Active 2005
Coleman, Jimmy Deceased 2005
Davis, Arnold D. Active 1984
 Deans, Robert L. "Bobby" Active 2005
Drayton, Philip J.  Active 2001
Evans, Jimmy Treasurer
Hall, James G.  Inactive 1997
Hinton, Sidney L. Deceased 1994
Hodge, Robert E. Deceased  1979
Holloway, Bobby F. Inactive  1981
Hunter, Charles W. Deceased  1982
Johnson, James C. Deceased 1997
Jones, Nord E. Inactive  1998
Jones, Robert J. Inactive  2000
Lewis, Cornell B.  Inactive 1998
Lightner, Clarence E. Deceased 1982
Lynn, William M. V-President  1994
McClain, Henry C. Active 1982
Moore, John R.  Deceased 1979
Newkirk, Rogene E. Deceased  1975
Peebles, Paul E. Deceased  1984
Sewell, Theodore R. Deseased 1995
Smith, III, William F.   Active 2001
Spearman, Ben President 2006
Spence, Joseph   Active 1994
Spence, Sr., Wilbert Active  2005
Spencer, Lawrence D.  Inactive  1995
Wall, Jr. Richmond  Active 2001
Wilkins, Malachi Deceased  1979
Williams, James M.  Active 1979
Williams, Robert L.  Active 1994

Affiliated Members

Peer Linwood Ebrons

Peer Ronnier Burton