The Seven Liberal Arts and Sciences
Grammar, Rhetoric, Logic, Arithmetic, Geometry, Music, Astronomy

Light from Mackey's Encyclopaedia of Freemasonry p603:

In classical Latin the word quadrivium meant a place where four roads met and trivum meant a place where three roads met. The scholastics of the middle ages, looking to the metaphorical meaning of the phrase "the paths of learning", divided what were called the seven liberal arts and sciences, but which comprised the whole cycle of instruction in those days, into two classes, calling grammar, rhetoric, and Logic the trivium, and arithmetic, geometry, music, and astronomy the quadrivium. These two 'Roads to the Temple of Wisdom', including seven distinct sciences were, in the Middle Ages, supposed to include universal knowledge.

Quadrivium and Trivium:
The Seven Liberal Arts and Sciences. The Quadrivium in the language of the schools, (of the Middle Ages) were the four lesser arts, arithmetic, geometry, music, and astronomy; while the trivium were the triple way to eloquence by the study of grammar, Logic, and rhetoric.

Music on this page is Gesellenreise by Mozart.
Free JavaScripts provided
by The JavaScript Source